Bill McMurray of Portland has joined the staff of The Landing School as director of enrollment management for the post-secondary vocational institute in Kennebunkport. Most recently, he was responsible for establishing the college guidance programs and staffs for Envision Schools, a network of new public charter high schools in the San Francisco Bay area.

Barbara Grillo has been named the new director of Maine Medical Center Cancer Institute. She previously was director of the hospital’s neuroscience institute.

Laura Kramar has joined Briggs Advertising as production and project manager. She most recently worked with the Island Institute of Rockland as marketing and branding coordinator.


Norman Maze has been named housing director for Shalom House, Inc., a leader in mental health support services and affordable housing for people living with psychiatric disabilities. He’s been with the agency since 1997 in various roles.


Acorn Engineering Inc., has been named “Contractor of the Year,” by Cumberland County Soil & Water District, for its work on the Long Creek Watershed project. This is the first time the district has recognized an engineering company for this award.

Wright-Pierce, an award-winning water, wastewater and infrastructure engineering firm, was named one of the Top 500 design firms in the country by Engineering News-Record.

Dale McCormick, director of MaineHousing, was selected as keynote speaker for the 13th annual Rainbow Business & Professional Association’s Scholarship Awards Banquet on May 13. She is one of Maine’s most widely recognized advocates for gay and lesbian rights and an outspoken force in affordable housing and nontraditional jobs for women.

Rose Marasco, professor of art, has been named the University of Southern Maine’s third Distinguished Professor. The appointment, among the highest accorded by the university, was in recognition of her exceptional scholarship and impact on both a local and national level to the field of photography and photography education.

Stephen Wade, Alan Stone and James Belieau, shareholders at Skelton Taintor & Abbott law firm, were featured in “Chambers & Partners USA” as leaders in their fields. Wade and Belieau are recognized among the best lawyers in litigation and Stone in energy and natural resources.

FISC Solutions, a third-party back office solutions provider, was presented with the Healthy Androscoggin Work Healthy Award for a third year in a row. The award recognizes businesses and organizations in Androscoggin County that have placed a high priority on promoting good health for their employees.


United Way of Greater Portland has announced its 2010 Campaign Cabinet members, who included Mike Stoddard, Maine Bank & Trust Growth Manager and Senior Vice President; Sam Beal, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine Executive Director; Cheryl Brandt, Gorham Savings Bank Senior Vice President; Erin Ehrlenbach Collins, Androscoggin Trust & Investment Services Vice President and Trust Officer; Michael Coughlin, Goodwill Industries of Northern New England Chief Executive Officer; Stephen deCastro, Key Private Bank Market Manager; Andrew Dolloff, Kennebunk Schools Superintendent; Lisa Toner, Delhaize America, LLC, Vice President of Legal Affairs; Sean Dugan, MaineHealth Director of Special Projects; James Kachmar, Guardian Life Insurance Financial Representative; Nathan Poore, Falmouth Town Manager; and Douglas Richard, Hannaford Brothers Co. Gorham Store Manager.

Dr. David Brown, chair of computer science and director of information technology at the Maine School of Science and Mathematics, has been selected as an outside evaluator and reviewer for the computer science curriculum at Phillips-Exeter Academy in New Hampshire. The selection was based on his expertise and experience in computer science education, independent research with secondary education and his knowledge regarding how computer science might influence other disciplines.

Jeffrey Bennett, Esq., a shareholder and attorney with Bennett Law Firm of Portland, has been selected to chair the annual giving campaign for Easter Seals of Maine. He is a member of the board of directors of Easter Seals.

John Lightbody, a director at Murray, Plumb & Murray, and Kelly McDonald, an associate attorney at the firm, were both elected to leadership roles for the Maine Motor Transportation Association. Lightbody will serve as chairman of the executive committee for the association and McDonald will serve as director representing the service industry for the association.

The Rev. William Baran, retired minister; Luc Nya, multicultural services coordinator for the Maine Department of Health and Human Services; Neal Allen, executive director of the Greater Portland Council of Government; Robert Dunfey, real estate and hotel developer in Maine and New Hampshire; Cornelia Swanson, senior vice president and regional commercial credit administration manager at TD Banknorth; and Mary Striker, retired nurse, were all re-elected to Avesta Housing’s board of directors. Each will serve an additional three-year term.

Rocky Crockett has accepted the position of garden coordinator for the 2010 growing season of the Alan Day Community Garden. Crockett’s duties will include planning of workshops, organizing volunteers, implementing design concepts and overseeing the work of summer interns.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.