AUGUSTA — Gov. John Baldacci recognized several Maine students at the State House today for their achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Among those honored were Caroline Suresh of Bridgton and Katherine Spring of Wells, who were Maine’s delegates to the highly selective National Youth Science Camp near the National Radio Astronomy Observatory at Green Bank, W.Va.

The governor also honored the Falmouth Aeronautical Aviators team, which represented Maine at the national Real World Design Challenge Competition. Team members were Sarah Abramson, Jacob Merson, Eric Tierney, Sam Walker, Zoë Kitchel and Jordan Stanhope. Faculty coaches were John Kraljic, Chris Morin and Andrew Njaa, with mentoring help from Falmouth resident Kenneth Riddle, a retired Lockheed Martin executive.

Baldacci also recognized Rebecca Ye of Bangor, the U.S. winner of the 2010 Stockholm Junior Water Prize, the most prestigious international youth award for water-related science. Ye’s project combined nanotechnology and microbiology in the development of a biosensor for E.coli in water samples.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.