Rick Bisson has been appointed director of business development at NEMT, one of the nation’s top providers of medical transcription services. He had been marketing and communications director at Carrabassett Valley Academy since 2004.

Hilary Hayner has joined Seacoast Hand Therapy in South Portland. She has experience in both hospital and private outpatient settings.

Heather Brown has joined SeniorPlus as volunteer services coordinator. She will be responsible for recruiting and coordinating the work of more than 150 volunteers to provide services to older adults and adults with disabilities.

Dr. Heather Dlugosz has joined CCS Psychiatry in Lewiston. She most recently worked at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in the division of child and adolescent psychiatry.


• Cummings, Lamont & McNamee recently elected principal Cindy Keohan, MBA, managing director. In her new role, Keohan will oversee all business operations, bringing a unique perspective to this new position.

Angela Faherty has been appointed commissioner of education by Gov. John Baldacci. She served as deputy commissioner for four years and has been a classroom teacher at the elementary, middle and high school levels.


Pat Jackson, a supervisor and property manager for family development at Auburn Housing, was awarded the 2010 Community Service Award by Advocates for Children. Nominated by Tom Poulin, Jackson has spent 23 years at Auburn Housing.

• Poland Spring named Ferry Beach Ecology School as its 2010 Natural Leader Award recipient. The school is being honored for its hands-on environmental education programs for young people that focus on the science of ecology and the daily practice of sustainability.

The Ellsworth American and Mount Desert Islander website,, has been named the best community newspaper website in the country by the National Newspaper Association. The website was up against websites created by small daily and weekly newspapers all over the nation.

GO MAINE commuter assistance program and its marketing team, Buxton Communications and Engine 5 Design, received the 2010 TDM Creative Excellence Award from the Association for Commuter Transportation Patriot Chapter.

Pine State Services of South Portland is featured on the July/August cover of P&M Magazine, an industry-specific publication for plumbing and mechanics. The company is being recognized for its “green” efforts and operating procedures.

Camden Harbour Inn was selected as one of 51 favorite splurges worldwide by Sherman’s Travel, a luxury travel magazine and popular website. The inn joins the White Barn Inn as the only Maine inns to be included on the list.


Stephen Schwartz of Schwartz & Schwartz, PA, has been appointed to the Board of the Overseers of the Bar by the Maine Supreme Judicial Court. He has been practicing law for 25 years and has a trial practice, specializing in criminal defense, personal injury and probate law.

Sallie Chandler of Lebanon is being nominated for reappointment to the Maine Human Rights Commission.

Marvin Glazier of Bangor and Kenneth Spirer of Portland are being nominated for reappointment to the Maine Commission on Indigent Legal Services.

• Gov. John Baldacci has nominated Anthony Armstrong of Cape Elizabeth for appointment to the board of directors for the Finance Authority of Maine. Also nominated for reappointment are Brent Cross of Bangor, Glenn Lamarr of Fort Kent, Patrick Murphy of Portland and Cheri Walker of Falmouth.

• Gov. John Baldacci has nominated Sheryl Gregory of Litchfield for reappointment to the Maine State Housing Authority Board of Commissioners.

Sande Updegraph of Brunswick has been nominated by Gov. John Baldacci for reappointment to the Midcoast Regional Redevelopment Authority Board of Trustees.

Scott Dickerson, executive director of Coastal Mountains Land Trust, has been elected to the national Land Trust Accreditation Commission, an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance. The commission, which was established in 2006, has awarded accreditation to more than 100 land trusts.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.