Awards and Recognitions

Alexander Thomas of Cumberland was named a Sarah and James Bowdoin Scholar by Bowdoin College for the 2009-2010 school year.  

The Beta Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International awarded the 2010 Susanne M.M. Flagg Grant to Kalen Jabar of Falmouth. Jabar will be attending Western New England College this fall.

Glendon Staples of Falmouth was one of 15 students recently inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma business honor society at Susquehanna University.  

Maxwell Payson of Falmouth received highest honors at Phillips Exeter Academy, for the 2009-2010 school year.

Sarah Studley of Yarmouth was elected to the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Society at Gettysburg College.

Zoe Hull of Cumberland was inducted into the Connecticut College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

Rachel Poulin of North Yarmouth was awarded the Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar Award from Rochester Institute of Technology.

Patrick Delaney of Yarmouth, a student at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry landscape architecture program, received the 2010 Walter Tarbox Memorial Scholarship. 

Kristen Berube
of Cumberland, a mechanical engineering major, received the Herbert M. Wuth Scholarship from the University of New Hampshire’s College of Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Jacob Whiting-Kooy of Cumberland Foreside, received the 2010 Buschmann Award from Xavier University.

Dana Hayward of North Yarmouth, a member of the Cumberland County 4-H, received a Pine Tree State 4-H Foundation Scholarship.

Gov. John Baldacci recognized the science achievements of the Falmouth Aeronautical Aviators team, comprised of Falmouth High School students Sarah Abramson, Jacob Merson, Eric Tierney, Sam Walker, Zoe Kitchel and Jordan Stanhope. The FAA was Maine’s first place finalist team in the national Real World Design Challenge Competition and went on to the national competition in Washington, D.C. The students were coached by Falmouth faculty members John Kraljic, Chris Morin, and Andrew Njaa.

filed under: