RUMFORD – Mountain Valley High won seven of the 14 championship finals and three of the 14 consolation finals to capture the Western Class B wrestling title Saturday.

The Falcons finished with 234 points in the nine-team meet. Following were Fryeburg Academy (150.5), Morse (129.5), Oak Hill (105) and Wells (100).

The top four wrestlers in each weight class — the championship and consolation winners and runners-up — qualified for next Saturday’s state meet at Augusta. The Falcons will have representatives in 12 weight classes.

Mountain Valley’s champions were Ryan Burgess (112), Cody Magoon (125), Josh Thornton (145), Taylor Carey (171), Josh Allen (189), Christian Durland (215) and Ryan Glover (285). Zach Cross was second at 160.

Nicole Burgess (103), Jake Thornton (119) and Joe Provencher (135) won their consolation final. Santos Rodriguez was fourth at 152.

Fryeburg will also have a strong showing at the state meet. Connor Sheehan (103), Jake Thurston (130) and Stefan Emery (152) won their classes and Peter Bacchiocchi placed second at 145. Matt Frost (112) won his consolation final, while Ryan Buzzell (125), Kirk Hubbard (135), C.J. Bartlett (140), Nate Hill (171) and Ian MacFawn (189) all finished fourth.

Morse had seven wrestlers advance: Gary Stevens, the champion at 119, runners-up Brandon McDougal (130), Wyatt Brackett (135), Sean Marrero (189) and Aaron Mitchell (285), third-place Levi Colson at 160, and fourth-place Dylan Harrington at 112.

CLASS C: Foxcroft Academy, Dirigo and Lisbon were the big winners at Jay.

Dirigo finished second with 178.5 points but qualified 13 wrestlers for next Saturday’s state championships. Foxcroft, which was first with 180.5 points, will send 11 to the state meet, and third-place Lisbon (167 points) advanced nine.

Since there are no regions in Class C, the meet was split into two divisions, North and South, based on seedings. The North consisted of seeds No. 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 16, and the South was seeds 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14 and 15.

The top four in each division advanced.

The beginning matchups at the state meet: No. 1 North vs. No. 4 South, No. 2 North vs. No. 3 South, No. 3 North vs. No. 2 South and No. 4 North vs. No. 1 South.