THE LINCOLN COUNTY Historical Association is seeking volunteers to serve as docents at three historic properties this summer: the Pownalboro Courthouse in Dresden, the Museum and Old Jail in Wiscasset, and the Chapman Hall House in Damariscotta. Pownalboro Courthouse volunteers should call Merry Fossel at 586-5690. Museum and Old Jail in Wiscasset docents should call Greg Shaw at 882-5004. Chapman Hall House volunteers should call Natalie House at 563-8441, Elizabeth Potter at 882-9296 or Rose-Marie Ballard at 563-2925.


GOODALL HOSPITAL has announced winners in its inaugural Biggest Loser Challenge. About 125 participants formed 14 teams for the 12-week program, with weight-loss results based on weight percentages rather than pounds lost.

The winning team, led by Kathy Akerman, was made up of six members of Goodall’s Center for Women’s Health. They lost a combined total of 99.6 pounds and acheived 8.64 percent weight loss. Each member received a $50 gift card to a local sporting goods store. Overall loss by all participants was 809 pounds.


THE SANFORD ELKS LODGE raised $4,000 recently during its second annual Autism Awareness fundraiser benefiting the Maine Autism Society of Maine.

The society is a nonprofit organization that serves individuals with autism along with their families, professionals and communities by providing education, advocacy, referrals and resource development.


WELLS JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL eighth-grader Nathan Ouellette was awarded a $1,000 scholarship for a math advocacy poster he created and submitted to a MathMovesU Middle School Scholarship and Grant Program sponsored by Raytheon Co. Ouellette was among 150 out of 2,977 students to receive funding for himself and his school and one of just two Mainers to receive the prize.


NANCY BEISSWANGER received the 2010-2011 Exemplary Volunteer Award for her service to the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District. Beisswanger has volunteered in the district since 1997, assisting in classrooms and with many programs, including Starz for Broadway, Celebration of Reading, Colors Day, Jump Rope for Heart, Athletic Boosters and Project Graduation.


REGIONAL SCHOOL UNION 21 had several student athletes participate in the recently held York County Special Olympics Spring Games.

From Mildred L. Day Memorial School in Arundel: Logan Taylor, 6, placed first in the standing long jump; Dakota Healy, 6, second in the softball throw; Preston Cyr, 6, fourth in the 50-meter dash; Bryanna McNally, 9, second in both the softball throw and the 50-meter dash; and Collen Lambert, 10, first in the standing long jump.

From the Consolidated School in Kennebunkport: Chelsea Valliere, 5, fourth in softball throw; Marston Poore, 7, second in the 50-meter dash; Ashley Askew, 8, fourth in the 50-meter dash; and Maya Lin, 9, fourth in the standing long jump.

From Middle School of the Kennebunks: Cole Hansen, 12, first in the 10-meter and 25-meter walks; and Zachary Jewett, 14, first in the 10-meter walk and second place in two wheelchair races.


THORNTON ACADEMY’S director of vocal music, Catherine Murray, has received the 2011 Distinguished Choral Director Award from the members of the state chapter of the American Choral Directors Association. Murray teaches music theory and directs the school’s 175-voice concert choir, an auditioned treble choir and a chamber choir.


SMMC VISITING NURSES presented Joanne Wrba Memorial Nursing Scholarships to three people who are pursuing a career in nursing.

Jennifer Lohnes, a medical assistant at the SMMC Family Practice in Kennebunk, and Thomas Cote, a graduate of Biddeford High School, each will receive $1,000 in scholarship money. Kayla Collins, a 2011 Old Orchard Beach High School graduate, will receive a $4,000 multiyear scholarship to attend Husson University in Bangor to become a registered nurse.


THOMAS BEUTLER, a sophomore at Wiscasset High School, will participate in the U.S. Naval Academy’s Summer STEM Program, an overnight academic camp designed for rising grade 8 to 11 students in good academic standing who have an interest in math and science.

About 375 students from around the United States have been selected to participate in the program in Annapolis, Md.