Students reach semifinals in National Merit program

EVANSTON, Ill. — Three students from Yarmouth High School were recently named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Students qualify for the scholarship program by receiving the highest score in the state in the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Qualifying National Merit Semifinalists from Yarmouth High School are Susannah Daggett, Amelia Gallay and Dinah King.

Qualifying as Commended Scholars from Yarmouth High School are Julia Butler, Natalie Stern and Madeline Wood.

Freeport students recognized for exceptional academic promise

FREEPORT — High School Principal Robert A. Strong, Jr. recently announced that Gabriel E. Currier and Abigail W. Mahoney have been named Commended Students in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program. They will receive a Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program.

About 34,000 students are being recognized nationwide for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2012 competition for National Merit Scholarship, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012 competition by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Facebook comments

filed under: