• Joyce Betts joined Allen Insurance and Financial as a personal insurance assistant.

Betts of Rockland has 12 years of experience helping local residents with their insurance needs.


• Seth J. Sherwood was promoted to small-business relationship manager at TD Bank in Waterville.

Sherwood of Augusta has nearly 13 years of experience in banking and lending. He joined TD Bank in 2000 and most recently served as a commercial portfolio loan officer.


• Ken Altshuler, a Portland-based matrimonial attorney, was named president of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers.

Altshuler has practiced law in Portland for more than 25 years. He is the former chair of the Maine State Bar Association Family Law section and the section’s former secretary and legislative liaison.

He has also taught courses in family law for the paralegal programs at the University of Southern Maine and Andover College.

• The Maine Angels investment network named its new officers and executive committee.

Sandra Stone, principal at Sea Cove Solutions, is the new chair of Maine Angels.

Don Gooding, executive director of the Maine Center for Entrepreneurial Development, was named vice chair of Maine Angels. Samuel A. Ladd III, president of People’s United Bank in southern Maine, was named treasurer; and Richard E. Curran Jr., founder and president of Spinnaker Trust, is secretary.


• Becky McKinnell, founder of iBec Creative, won the international Stevie Award for Women in Business – Best Young Entrepreneur. She is the first from Maine to win this honor.

McKinnell was recognized for her company’s growth over the past year, her personal dedication to community service, and her achievements as a young entrepreneur.

• Safeco Insurance, a business unit of Liberty Mutual Group, has presented Denise Douglass of Clark Insurance with its Award of Excellence. Douglass serves in the agency’s VIP Account Group and has more than 20 years of experience in the industry.

• Victoria Rogers, M.D., received the 2011 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Rogers is director of the Kids CO-OP at The Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital at Maine Medical Center.

• Camden National Bank was named Financial Institution of the Year at the Finance Authority of Maine.

The bank was recognized partly for its continued use of FAME products and its commitment to the community.

The bank has partnered with FAME on 56 loans totaling more than $16 million and has helped to create 87 Maine jobs and retain an additional 561 jobs.


Effective Dec. 31, Jane Norris will retire from the board of directors of Mechanics Savings Bank after more than 61 years of service to the bank.

Norris joined the board in 1969, serving as vice chair from 1982 to 2007 and board chair from 2007 to 2008. Most recently, she has been a member of the board’s Contributions/CRA Committee, Audit Committee, Governance & Compensation Committee and Investment Committee.

Norris began her career with Mechanics Savings Bank as a teller in 1950. She went on to serve as a loan officer, operations officer and vice president before being appointed CEO in 1979. In 1982, Norris became the first woman in Maine to be named a bank president. She served as president and CEO until her retirement in 1989.