Eagle Scouts honored in North Yarmouth

North Yarmouth Boy Scout Troop 58 recently dedicated a plaque recognizing the 113 Eagle Scouts the troop has produced since it was founded 76 years ago. All of Troop 58’s eagles and former scoutmasters were invited to attend.

Local students make Dean’s List

The following students have made the Dean’s List at their respective colleges:


Charles Swedlow, Savannah College of Art and Design; James Hurdman,  Marquette University; Sophie Holbrook, St. Joseph’s College; Anne Vogt,  Hendrix College.


Erik Rost, Westminster School; Kelsey-An O’Neil, Nazareth College; John LaBrie, Northeastern University College of Professional Studies; Katharine Gagne, St. Joseph’s College; Chelsea L. Bridges, Rollins College; Meriel Wheatly, Chatham University.


Molly Strabley, Loomis Chaffee School; Hannah Bevens, SUNY New Paltz; Chelsea LeClair, St. Joseph’s College; Anthony Richards, St. Joseph’s College; Nicholas Whittaker, St. Joseph’s College; Connor Ertz, Gettysburg College.


Yu Ping Hu, St. Joseph’s College; Kristin S. Poulin, Bates College.

North Yarmouth

Abigail Young, St. Joseph’s College; Alyssa Christine McEwen, Clemson University.

Sidebar Elements

Greely High School held its second annual Poetry Out Loud contest on Jan. 11. Co-sponsored by the National Endowment of the Arts and the Poetry Foundation, Poetry Out Loud is a national recitation contest that begins at the class level and includes school, state and national competitions. This year over 450 Greely High School Students participated in memorizing and reciting poems written by well-known English and North American poets.

Students who competed include: Coryn Armstrong, Aidan Black, Mollie Braley, Lily Brinker, Natalie Dedon, Catherine Fellows, Kim Johnson, Sam Kennedy, Alex McAdoo, Anna McKee, Aaliyah Mills, Katarina Pisini, Nick Plummer, Mary Potts, Julia Ramseyer, Dan Ray, Emma Richards, Rachel Rivera, Lexy Rose, Rachel Sands and Tucker Tardiff.

This year’s winner was Anna McKee. She competed at the Southern Regional Competition at the State Theater in Biddeford on Feb. 8.

Facebook comments

filed under: