Internship applications due

Applications for Bethel Historical Society’s eight-week high school history internship position, set to begin July 1, are due Friday.

The selected applicant may be involved in museum tours, special event planning, oral history projects, collections management, exhibit preparation and other museum-related activities. The position includes a $1,000 stipend.

Gould Academy or Telstar Regional High School students, ages 14 to 18 years old, are eligible to apply.

Applications are available at the school, the society’s main office at 10 Broad St., and online at

For more details, call 824-2908 or (800) 824-2910.


Math meet winners

Maine School Administrative District 6 officials have announced the winners of the Spring 2012 District Math Meet.

Top winners in each class include:

Arithmetic: Grade 4 – Grace Elwell, Jason Warren and Anthony Bretton; Grade 5 – Jacob Libby, Vincent Nelson, Sydney Gillingham and Alasdair Swett; Grade 6 – Whitney Regan, Kiessa Treadwell, Katherine Lind, Keira Hawkes, Caleb Curtis and Carly Meserve.

Geometry: Grade 4 – Hannah Milne, Lauren Jordan, Gianna Micucci, Heidi Corbeil, Will Hughes and Hayden Wilkins; Grade 5 – Alasdair Swett, Charles Lamkin and Regan Mccleary; Grade 6 – Christian Napolitano, Keira Hawkes, Hattie Skvorak and Michaela Jordan.

Problem Solving: Grade 4 – Phil Pomerleau, Hannah Milne, Heidi Corbeil, Alexander Dyer; Grade 5 -Charles Lamkin, Alasdair Swett, Taylor Veilleux, Emma Whelchel, Sarah Dube, Regan Mccleary and Aidan Mcglone; Grade 6 – Caleb Curtis, Hattie Skvorak, Taylor Milliken and Katherine Lind.

Overall Winners: Grade 4 – Hannah Milne, Phil Pomerleau and Lauren Jordan; Grade 5 – Charles Lamkin, Alasdair Swett and Aidan McGlone; Grade 6 – Keira Hawkes, Hattie Skvorak, Carly Meserve.

Overall District Winner: Charles Lamkin.

Team Problem Solving Winners: First Place – Regan Mccleary, Jack Mccormick, Matthew Fardon, Dillon Hiltz, Chrisitan Napolitano, Jason Warren; Second Place – Elias Eberhart, Brandon Barnes, Gareth Bicknell, Andrew Pendleton, Hunter Jellison and Taylor Milliken; Third Place – Abbie Nelson, Hannah Milne, Grace Elwell, Heidi Corbeil and Aja Austin.


Nuclear medicine approval

Southern Maine Medical Center has been awarded a three-year term of accreditation in nuclear medicine from the American College of Radiology.

The accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety in medical imaging that uses small amounts of radioactive material to diagnose and treat a variety of diseases and abnormalities in the body.

Image quality, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures and quality assurance programs all are assessed, with findings reported to the ACR Committee on Accreditation for consideration for certification.


Hospice volunteers needed

The Hope Project at Hospice of York is seeking volunteers to work directly with families participating in free programming for grieving children.

Training sessions are planned for June 2, 3 and 9.

Interested attendees should call program director Nikki Hopewill at 361-7288 or email [email protected]


Youth summit representative

Wells High School sophomore Emilee Wooldridge has been selected to attend the Washington Youth Summit on the Environment at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va., from June 24 to 29.

University officials selected Wooldridge as one of 250 national youth delegates to attend the conference based on her academic accomplishments and noted leadership in the sciences and conservation studies at school.

The National Zoo and the National Geographic Society are co-partners of the event.


Robotics track meet

The Sea Road School recently hosted 141 elementary and middle school students from throughout Maine for daylong LEGO robotics track meet.

The event was the largest such competition in the state.

Sponsored by Maine Robotics, the high-tech competition was one of three track meet style contests for Maine children to compete with robots they built themselves.

In all, 21 teams participated, representing grades 3 through 8.  


Firefighters to be hired

Federal assistance, in the form of a Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response Grant, will enable the town to hire two new full-time firefighters.

The hires bring the town’s fire department staff to three, plus a chief officer on duty during the day.

The department also has 27 on-call members, who provide around-the-clock services for emergency calls, including for fire prevention, life safety and fire code inspections and emergency medical response.

For more details, call Chief Dennis Plante or email [email protected]


Commemorative tree planting

Two commemorative Lincoln Honey Locust trees, cloned from root cuttings of the “Witness Tree” under which Abraham Lincoln gave his Gettysburg address in 1863, will be planted in town today.

One of the 15-inch saplings will be planted at the Customs House on Front Street and dedicated to the memory of Edward D. True II, former chair of the historic Customs House board of trustees. The second tree will be planted at City Park on Washington Street.

The trees replace two memorial trees planted in the same locations following Lincoln’s assassination.