The Maine State Golf Association announced 13 scholarship winners on May 14. The scholarships, each for $1,500, go to Maine students who actively participate in golf as a player or are employed at a Maine club, and who show good character and academic achievement.

The recipients are Tyler Walton of Turner, Brandan Albee of Ellsworth, Craig Decato of York, Tyler Foster of Winthrop, Erik Lee of Hampden, Daniel Muther of Unity, Malcolm Oliver of Damariscotta, Matthew Packard of Falmouth, Ethan Pearl of Plymouth, Seth Sweet of Madison, Alexander Viola of Brunswick, Evan Waddell of Presque Isle and Brooke Wood of Machiasport.


Lucretia Nelson used a 7-iron to make a hole-in-one on the 115-yard 11th hole at Falmouth Country Club on Saturday. The shot was witnessed by Sue Grady and Pauline Raymond.


Joan Thompson of Wells aced the 11th hole at Dutch Elm Golf Course on Thursday. The shot was witnessed by Phylliss McCullough.


Jill Helmkamp of Auburn aced the ninth hole Monday at Martindale Country Club. She used a driver for the 156-yard shot, witnessed by Linda Gallagher and Connie Bedette.