New Hires

BerryDunn recently hired Jonathan C. Grace as a consultant in the firm’s government consulting group. Prior to joining the firm, Grace worked for Harris Computer Systems, Lawson Software, and Tyler Technologies, focusing on the government Enterprise Resource Planning software marketplace.  

Verrill Dana LLP recently welcomed Colin Hay, Mathew Todaro and Joanna Taatjes as summer associates. Hay is in his third year of law school at Boston University; Todaro is in his third year at Boston College Law School; and Taajetes is in her third year at the University of Connecticut School of Law.

Recycling Reinvented recently hired Melissa Innes as outreach director.

Jim Hanna has been hired as program manager for the Cumberland County Food Security Council. Previously, Hanna was an independent food system consultant, most recently creating the New American Sustainable Agriculture Project assisting recent immigrants and refugees to establish farm enterprises in Maine.

Jimmy Liang has joined the sales team at Patriot Subaru, Route One in Saco. Liang is also the co-owner of the Chia Sen Chinese Restaurant in Scarborough.


Julia Dalphin has been appointed director of accreditation and regulatory affairs at Maine Medical Center. Dalphin joined the hospital in 2005 as a data analyst in its Neuroscience Institute and moved to the department of accreditation as a project manager in 2008.

Claude Sheer, director and chair of the compensation and nomination committee of the Board of Directors at Lionbridge Technologies, is joining Local Thunder’s Advisory Board.

Piers Beirne, University of Southern Maine professor of sociology and legal studies in the department of criminology, was recently named USM’s third recipient of the Provost Research Fellowship. Beirne’s research will combine the fields of criminology, human-animal studies and art history.

Michael Jones was elected as a trustee of the American Board of Pathology. Dr. Jones will join 12 other nationally-selected pathologists in providing oversight of the board that certifies credentialing for the specialty.

Bangor Savings Bank recently announced that Scott A. Oxley and Vincent P. Veroneau have been elected as directors of Bangor Savings Bank. Both were also elected trustees of Bangor Bancorp MHC and directors of the Bangor Savings Bank Foundation at the bank’s recent board meeting.


Eugenia O’Brien, founder and director of the Portland Ballet, received the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award from the Boston Conservatory at this year’s commencement ceremony. O’Brien founded the Portland School of Ballet in 1980, and has since used her platform to provide performing arts opportunities to Maine students.

Wright Express recently presented Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine a $5,000 corporate donation.

Peter J. Rubin, a Bernstein Shur shareholder and the law firm’s president, was recently recognized by Owens-Illinois Inc. with the R. Bruce Shaw Distinguished Counsel Award acknowledging Rubin’s outstanding legal service for more than 33 years.

Maine Technology Institute (MTI) recently awarded TechStart Grants to Maine entrepreneurs in Freeport and Portland. Yankee & Associates LLC in Freeport  and MaineAsia LLC in Portland were each awarded $5,000.

Patriot Insurance has donated $5,000 to the Good Shepherd Food Bank in recognition of several Maine insurance agencies’ induction into the “Diamond Club.” Inductees included Clark Insurance, Scarborough, Norton Insurance Agency, Brunswick  and United Insurance Group, South Portland.

Skillins Greenhouses was recently presented with the Falmouth Friends of Habitat award as part of the Falmouth Family & Pet Walk. Each year an individual or business in the Falmouth community is chosen to receive this award for  outstanding partnership with Habitat for Humanity of Greater Portland.

The National Performance Network, an invitational network of only 65 performing arts presenters from across the country that are dedicated to touring work with deep community connections, officially selected Portland Ovations to become a partner.

Cumberland Fire Department recently announced the following awards: Firefighter-of-the-Year award was presented to Craig Weeman. Officer-of-the-Year award was presented to Sheldon Gregoire. Community Service Awards were presented to Kevin and Meghan Foster for their Firefighters-For-Kids program and to Evariste Bernier for his CPR and many other publicly-offered training classes. Also, Dan Fossett and Daryl Rawnsley were named life member inductees; each have 25 years of service.

PORTopera has been awarded a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). The $15,000 grant supports PORTopera’s summer performances of Puccini’s Madama Butterfly and its mission to bring outstanding full productions of grand opera to Maine audiences.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency presented Casco Baykeeper Joseph E. Payne with its 2012 Environmental Merit Award for a lifetime of advocacy for clean water. Payne was hired by Friends of Casco Bay in 1991 to serve as the environmental steward of Casco Bay.

The Greater Bath Elder Outreach Network (GBEON) presented the David Smith Award to Joseph Pietrowicz for his dedication and commitment to exemplifying the values and mission of the program.

Psychiatrist David A. Moltz has been awarded the Dr. Ulrich B. Jacobsohn Lifetime Achievement Award for his “extraordinary and tireless efforts” on behalf of those with psychiatric disorders. Dr. Moltz is unit chief of outpatient behavioral health at Mid Coast Hospital.

Sustainable Bowdoin received the President’s Leadership Award recognizing the efforts of a campus department or group to address community issues that result in widespread impact on the campus and in the community. won the student track of the 2012 Rhode Island Business Plan Competition. was co-founded by Stephen Hebson, a Falmouth native and recent employee of The VIA Agency in Portland.

Good Deeds

Morong Falmouth employees and management recently raised over $3000 for the American Heart Association’s annual Southern Maine Heart Walk. The money was raised through Morong’s management dollar for dollar match of the sponsorship raised by two of its employees taking part in the Walk.


The Maine Army National Guard recently announced th promotion of John Hobbs II of Portland to specialist and Daniel Philbrick of Cape Elizabeth to specialist.

filed under: