Nature interns at work

The Nature Conservancy is hosting students from New York City and Chicago through Aug. 3 to serve as summer interns in its Leaders in Environmental Action for the Future, or LEAF, program.

Interns are helping repair a bog boardwalk and trail at the Saco Heath preserve; surveying stream crossings in Aroostook County; and working with the Saco River Recreational Council to educate river visitors in Fryeburg.

To learn more, go to


New AWS board members

The Animal Welfare Society has appointed Vernon L. Moore, M.S.S.W., Ed.D., and Susan Higgins as new board members for two consecutive three-year terms.

The group also announced new officers to the board, including President John Cavaretta of Ogunquit; Vice President John Rhoades of Ogunquit; Treasurer Sam Bishop of Kennebunk; Secretary Cindy Talbot of Wells; and At Large Stan Barwise of Kennebunkport.


Rotary Club recognition

The Biddeford-Saco Rotary Club recently recognized individuals for outstanding service to the community and/or the Rotary.

Karen Chasse, Rotarian of the year; John Andrews and Jerry Lapierre, Public Sector Award; David Lowe, Humanitarian Award; Jeffrey Cook, Vocational Service Award; Roland Gagne, Goodwin Outstanding Service Award.

Presidential awards were presented to Priscilla Farrell, Jacqueline Perrault, Amy Safford and Helene Plourde.

Service Above Self Awards went to Josh Fearon and Robert Moody.

Paul Harris Fellowships were presented to Maureen St. John and Josh Fearon.

Special recognition plaques also were presented to Club Secretary Lucie Dunigan Kay, Club Treasurer Dana Lane, David Lowe and Keith Jacques.


‘Manikin’ donated

Firehouse Subs Public Safety Foundation has awarded the Raymond Fire Rescue with a Personal Digital Assistant STAT Manikin in honor of retired Fire Chief Denis Morse.

The Manikin hones skills by providing medical crews with a variety of emergency medical simulations to resolve.