PORTLAND (AP) — Maine farmers could be eligible for federal help to recover from late spring frosts, a summer hailstorm and excessive rain in June.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated two disasters for Maine this season, which makes farmers eligible for emergency loan assistance.

One designation is for the damage from frosts, freezes and hailstorms that occurred between April 26 and June 23 in Androscoggin, Cumberland, Oxford, York, Franklin, Kennebec and Sagadahoc counties.

The other designation covers Penobscot, Aroostook, Piscataquis, Waldo, Hancock, Somerset, and Washington counties that had excessive rains between June 15 and 30.

U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree said Wednesday that the disaster designation will help farmers get the help they need to recover and cut their losses.

Sens. Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins applauded the USDA’s decision.

filed under: