SOUTH PORTLAND — Of the five races for municipal seats in the Nov. 6 election, voters will have a choice on the ballot in one and can sharpen their pencils for another.

The only contested race comes in City Council District 3, where incumbent Councilor Rosemarie De Angelis is challenged by local real estate agent Melissa Linscott. De Angelis is seeking her second term in the district that includes the waterfront from Knightville west, bounded by Ocean Street and Evans Street to the Cape Elizabeth town line.

The only candidate to replace District 4 Councilor Maxine Beecher is former Portland City Clerk and current South Portland Civil Service Commission member Linda Cohen.

Beecher cannot seek a fourth term because of local term limits laws.

In the race for the District 4 Board of Education seat, write-ins may carry the day because no one submitted nomination papers to City Clerk Susan Mooney by the Monday afternoon deadline.

Incumbent School Board members Richard Matthews and Tappan Fitzgerald are unopposed for re-election in District 3 and District 5, respectively.

In District 4, incumbent James Gilboy decided against running again. Because no one turned in nomination papers, Mooney said a write-in winner would be asked to serve. If a write-in election results in a tie, the City Council may call a special election for the seat.

Mooney said if a special election is needed, it could be scheduled with the special election to replace Councilor Tom Coward. Coward is the only candidate on the ballot for the Cumberland County Commissioner District 3 seat, and cannot serve on the council and commission at the same time. His resignation would be expected at the end of November or early December if he is elected commissioner.

The City Council and School Board seats each have three-year terms. Candidates run without party affiliation. There are no local referendum questions on the ballot.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Nov. 6. Voting is held in these district locations:

• District 1: Boys & Girls Club, 169 Broadway.

• District 2: American Legion Hall, 413 Broadway.

• District 3 and District 4: South Portland Community Center, 21 Nelson Road.

• District 5: Redbank Community Center, MacArthur Circle West.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Facebook comments

filed under: