Emory University, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Atlanta; Jodie Simms, Poland; Loraine Van Slyke, Yarmouth.


J. Alexander Maxwell of Kennebunkport has earned a Fulbright Scholarship and begins a three-year doctoral program in architecture, with an emphasis on urban design in the developing world, at University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, Scotland. He is a 2005 graduate of Cheverus High School and a 2008 civil engineering graduate of Gonzaga University in Spokane, Wash.

Biola University, La Mirada, Calif.: Kathe Washburn of Harrison has received the provost’s scholarship. The $8,000 scholarship is renewable yearly with a 3.0 grade point average.

Bowdoin College, Brunswick: The following undergraduate students were honored for academic excellence at the annual Sarah and James Bowdoin Day ceremony: Caroline Blake. Raymond; Mark Richter, Brunswick; Samantha Burns, Portland; Alex Doering, Windham; Daniel Hanley, Falmouth; Katherine Harmon, Auburn; Katherine Kinkel, Brunswick; Ariye Krassner, Portland; Aiden Reis, Brunswick; Molly Ridley, Buxton; Megan Samson, Lisbon Falls; Parker Towle, South Berwick; Samuel Turner, Brunswick; John Visentin, Cumberland Foreside; Madison Whitley, Freeport.