PORTLAND – The 42nd annual James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy will be awarded in ceremonies Sunday at the Holiday Inn By The Bay in Portland.

The finalists are running backs Donald Goodrich of Cheverus, Alex Shain of Sanford and wide receiver Chandler Shostak of Cony. All three also stood out on defense.

They were the top vote-getters from an original list of 12 semifinalists in balloting by the state’s high school football coaches and media who cover high school football on a regular basis.

The trophy is awarded to the top senior football player in the state and is named after the legendary coach at Portland High of the 1930s and 1940s.

Cheverus has had a player in the finals each of the past three seasons, with a winner in 2010. Peter Gwilym, now on the Ohio State roster, became the first Cheverus player to win the trophy. Last year, Spencer Cooke, a running back, was a finalist. Cooke is at Bryant University.

Goodrich put up some impressive numbers to become the third straight Stag among the final three.

Coach John Wolfgram called Goodrich “an exceptional player and an explosive runner.”

Goodrich showed those qualities by averaging more than 8 yards per carry. He had a 88-yard touchdown run in the playoffs against Deering.

“Donald was a big factor on both sides off the ball,” said Wolfgram. “He was very versatile.”

Besides his backfield duties, Goodrich returned punts and kicks, caught passes, did the punting and played defensive end, where he was named to the Maine Sunday Telegram All-State team as a junior.

“I feel Donald is an outstanding candidate for the award. He has strong character and takes all (advanced placement) courses,” said Wolfgram.

Goodrich rushed for 1,722 yards and 28 touchdowns. He had 43 solo tackles and seven sacks.

Shain was a workhouse for Sanford, carrying the ball 204 times for 1,434 yards and 28 touchdowns.

Coach Mike Fallon said Shain’s father, Jeff, was a finalist for the Fitzpatrick, which makes them the first father-son duo to be finalists.

“Alex is a deserving candidate,” said Fallon. “This is an elite award. It would be great for our school, the community and of course, for Alex if he won it.”

Shain plays basketball and is a state championship sprinter in outdoor track. He ranks 20th in his senior class of 250.

“Alex is the epitome of the student-athlete,” said Fallon.

Sanford has had three Fitz-patrick Trophy winners — Paul Belanger in 1976, Tony Matoin in 1978 and Kevin Bougie in 1999.

Shostak helped Cony enjoy one of its best seasons in several years. He was a wide receiver and defensive back.

Teaming with quarterback Ben Lucas, he helped give the Rams one of the most dangerous passing games in the state.

Shostak led the state in receptions with 56, receiving yards with 853 and touchdown catches with 12. He also led the state in interceptions with 11.

Shostak would be Cony’s first Fitzpatrick Trophy winner.

“We’re very excited of having one of our own as a finalist,” said Coach Robbie Vachon.

Like the other finalists, Shostak is a strong student who wants to play at the next level.

Staff Writer Tom Chard can be reached at 791-6419 or at:

[email protected]

Twitter: TomChardPPH