The following individuals joined HealthReach Community Health Centers’ board of directors:

Gary Pierson of Livermore Falls; Janine White of New Portland; Jody Watson of China; and Dana Kempton of Skowhegan.

The board also named its officers: Joanne Joy, chair; Margaret Edwards Flynn, vice chair; and David Leigh, secretary and treasurer.

The Susan L. Curtis Charitable Foundation and Camp Susan Curtis announced its new slate of officers for 2013:

Don Foerster of Auburn, senior manager of facilities planning and management for L.L. Bean, was named chair.

Sean Roy-Becker of Cape Elizabeth, private banker with TD Wealth Management, was named vice chair.

Marianna Fenton of Portland, partner with Robinson Kriger & McCallum, was elected secretary.

Tabitha Swanson of Gorham, principal with The Swanson Group LLC, was named treasurer.

Suzanne Umland, vice president of Peoples United Bank, was appointed to the board of directors at the Regional Transportation Program. Umland has a long career in banking. She also served on the board of directors for the United Way of Mid Coast Maine.

The Environmental and Energy Technology Council of Maine elected the following new members to its board of directors:

Chad Allen of Cianbro; John Carroll of Central Maine Power; William Taylor of Pierce Atwood; and Brad Weller of Macpage.

William Michaud was elected to the board of governors of the Maine Mediators Association. Michaud is an attorney in Portland, who focuses on mediation, school and education matters, child protection, family law and criminal defense. Prior to becoming a lawyer, he worked for 28 years in Maine’s public schools as a teacher, principal and superintendent.

Ronald P. Lebel, an attorney with Skelton, Taintor & Abbott, was named to the board of directors of Museum L-A, the Story of Work and Community in Lewiston-Auburn. Lebel is a shareholder and director of Skelton, Taintor & Abbott, who concentrates his practice in family law and civil litigation.


The following individuals from Androscoggin Home Care & Hospice were recognized with its 2012 Robert D. Turcotte Award:

Ann Dehetre-Arsenault of Lewiston, a hospice house greeter and special events volunteer; and Peter van Oosten of Greene, a greeter, hospice volunteer and videographer.

Also recognized were Michelle Monroe of Jay, a volunteer for the grieving children and teenagers program; and Sandy Kimball of Buckfield, a patient support volunteer since April 2006.

Daniel Murphy, a Bernstein Shur attorney and shareholder, received the Martindale-Hubbell AV Preeminent rating.

The ratings are an objective indicator of a lawyer’s high ethical standards and professional ability. Murphy, of Portland, is a member of the firm’s business law practice group and litigation group.