Col. John R. Mosher was awarded the Legion of Merit during a March 13 ceremony at Camp Keyes, Augusta. The Legion of Merit is an armed forces award given for exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding services and achievements. It ranks sixth in the order of precedence.

Mosher served the Maine Army National Guard as the Deputy Chief of Staff of Operations G-3 and on the Joint Staff from 2006 to 2013. Mosher has led the mobilization of over 1,200 soldiers in various activations and also spearheaded several initiatives. He led direct support to civil authorities during the 2007 Patriot’s Day Flood, 2009 Northern Maine Flood, 2011 Hurricane Irene relief and regional support to New York during Hurricane Sandy. He recently accepted the position as chief of staff to Brig. Gen. James Campbell, adjutant general of Maine.

Army Reserve Pvt. Alexander E. Bradbury has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C. He is the son of Lloyd and Cathy Bradbury of Hollis Center and is a 2012 graduate of Bonny Eagle High School, Standish.

FA SU David J. Petrin, son of David and Julie Petrin of Biddeford, has recently graduated from Basic Enlisted Submarine School as a Fireman Apprentice Submarine Unqualified and is now attending basic Mechanics School. Petrin graduated from Thornton Academy in 2011 and joined the Navy in May 2012.

Maine Air National Guard and Maine Army National Guard announce the February promotion to the rank specified for the following individuals;

Maine Air National Guard

Staff Sgt. Christopher Bishop, Windham, 132nd Air Refueling Squadron;

Chief Master Sgt. John Herrick Jr., Auburn, 243rd Engineering and Installation Squadron;

Technical Sgt. David Johnson, Saco, 101st Air Refueling Wing;

Technical Sgt. Matthew Lambert, Rangeley, 101st Maintenance Squadron.

Maine Army National Guard

Pv2 Colby Adams, Lebanon, Detachment 2, 1136th Transportation Company;

Pv2 Walter Bates III, Lincolnville, CO B, 3/172d Infantry (Mountain);

Spc. Wesley Bucklin, Waterboro, Detachment 1, 1136th Transportation Company;

Pv2 Sarah Crommett, Durham, Detachment 1, 136th Engineer Company;

Spc. Jake Erickson, Windham, CO B, 3/172d Infantry (Mountain);

Spc. Nicholas Greenleaf, Boothbay, 488th Military Police Company;

Spc. Joshua Grzyb, Saco, 262nd Engineer Company;

Sgt. Alan Hamlyn, Wells, Detachment 1, 1136th Transportation Company;

Sgt. James Lawler, Boothbay Harbor, 1136th Transportation Company;

Spc. Spencer Luke, Scarborough, CO B, 3/172d Infantry (Mountain);

Pfc. Michael Martel, Auburn, Detachment 1, 136th Engineer Company;

Sgt. 1st Class Kenneth Merrifield, Wells, 262nd Engineer Company;

Spc. Lucas Paul, Farmington, CO B, 3/172d Infantry (Mountain)

Spc. Kevin Ramsdell, Hollis, 262nd Engineer Company;

Spc. Eric Walton, Windham, 262nd Engineer Company.