Emily A. Clark has joined Girls on the Run-Maine as council director.

Clark, of Gorham, brings more than 15 years of nonprofit experience to GOTR-ME with expertise in fundraising, marketing, promotions and events. Prior to moving to Maine in 2011, she lived and worked in New York for six years, most recently serving as director of development at San Simeon by the Sound.

Brian McKeon joined Idexx Laboratories Inc. as the company’s executive vice president and chief financial officer, effective Jan. 1, 2014.

As CFO, McKeon will oversee the company’s finance and information technology functions. He will report to Jonathan Ayers, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Idexx. McKeon will join Idexx after spending the past six years as executive vice president and chief financial officer at Iron Mountain.

Doug Michael of Mount Desert Island has accepted a position as chief community health and grants officer for EMHS.

Michael is the former executive director and founder of Healthy Acadia and has more than 20 years of community health experience. Michael will assume his duties as EMHS chief community health and grants officer Nov. 11.

Pauline Hanson recently joined Tedford Housing as a homeless prevention case manager.

Hanson, of Brunswick, also will manage Tedford’s “Warm Thy Neighbor” heating assistance program. She previously worked at Mid Coast Hospital’s Addiction Resource Center.

Dr. Sherrie Winton accepted the position of program director for general studies at Saint Joseph’s College Online.

Winton was previously the training and education coordinator at New York City’s Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. She has nearly a decade of experience as a program coordinator and policy associate at the University of Southern Maine’s Muskie School of Public Service. She was also the program coordinator for the Pathways to Higher Education program at USM.

Payson Welch was hired as a senior software architect at HistoryIT LLC, an information technology firm in Portland.

Payson spent the previous six years at Dirigo Design & Development.


David M. Elmer, PE, was promoted to vice president of Weston & Sampson, a Massachusetts-based company that provides civil engineering, environmental consulting, and architectural design services to communities in Maine and throughout the East Coast.

Elmer, who grew up in Bridgton, has 18 years of experience in wastewater and drainage system engineering and project management. He began his career with Weston & Sampson in 1997 as an engineer and was promoted to senior associate. Most recently, he managed a sewer system improvement project for the Auburn Sewerage District.


Craig Douglas, district engineer for the Brunswick & Topsham Water District, was elected vice president of the New England Water Works Association.

Douglas, of Harpswell, has been a member of the New England Water Works Association for 12 years and is a member of its planning and sustainability committees. He is also a licensed Class IV water operator in Maine and New Hampshire.

Brian Hodges, Camden’s development director, was elected to fill the role of vice president for the Mid Coast Economic Development District.

Hodges was appointed to board of directors in June 2011.

Other officers that were re-elected to continue in their roles are: Roger Moody, Knox County commissioner, who serves as president; Betty Johnson, Waldo County commissioner, who serves as secretary; and Bill Post, Bowdoinham town manager, who serves as treasurer.


Sedgewood Commons, a 95-bed Genesis HealthCare skilled nursing center in Falmouth, received the Excellence in Action Award from My InnerView by National Research Corporation.

The center was recognized for outstanding patient and resident satisfaction and its commitment to quality.

Nat Tupper, town manager of Yarmouth, was recently presented with the 2013 Linc Stackpole Manager of the Year Award.

The award recognizes one manager per year from a statewide pool of Maine county, city and town managers. Tupper has served as town manager of Yarmouth for the past 23 years of his 32 years in municipal government.

This is the second time in the past 30 years that a Yarmouth town manager has been presented with this award. Former Yarmouth Town Manager Osmond C. Bonsey received the award in 1983.


Jillyanna’s Woodfired Cooking School in Kennebunkport was recently spotlighted by Boston Globe food writer David Lyon.

Jillyanna’s opened this past summer and teaches students how to make pizzas in electric and gas-fired ovens. Students also learn to make authentic Neapolitan-style pizza in a wood-fired oven. The 31/2-hour classes are offered every Friday, Saturday and Sunday through the second week in December.

Amy Coppers-Costantino, a lead project engineer at Wright-Pierce received the 2013 Young Member of the Year Award from the New England Water Works Association.

This award recognizes her “outstanding dedication and service through active involvement in programs and committees that help advance the organization’s mission to protect our water resources and promote excellence in the drinking water profession.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.