U.S. Sens. Susan Collins and Angus King announced that Zachary Duperry of Portland and Carolyn Liziewski of Gray have been selected as Maine’s delegates to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program. The 104 students from around the country will spend a week in the nation’s capital in March where they will study the American political process and visit local sites. The award, founded in 1962, is funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Delegates also receive a $5,000 college scholarship.


Catherine McAuley High School, Portland: Joan Fasulo of Bar Mills, Brianna Heisler of Portland and Carolyn Liziewski of Gray, have been named Commended Students.

Cape Elizabeth High School: Trevor Ewald, John Hall, Kevin Hare, Matthew Reale-Hatem and Nicholas Shedd were named semifinalists.

Falmouth High School: Lexis Anderson, Elise Bickford, Eric Chen, Robert Foley, Joseph Lesniak, Rory Nagem, Joshua White, Nathaniel Wolf and Prathusha Yerramilli have been named Commended Students. Chen has also been selected as the DAR Good Citizen for the school year.

Kennebunk High School: The Class of 2013 National Merit Semifinalist is Christopher Kremer.

York High School: Adam Briggs has been named a Commended Student.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.