TOPSHAM — Behind seven individual champions, Skowhegan rolled to the Eastern Class A wrestling championship Saturday, scoring 180.5 points.

Cony finished second with 144 points.

Cody Craig (106 pounds), Tyler Craig (120), Luke Bolster (126), Julian Sirois (132), Kaleb Brown (145), Logan Stevens (160), and Mikal Federici (182) finished first for Skowhegan. The Indians had nine wrestlers qualify for Saturday’s Class A state championships at Noble High by finishing in the top four.

Mt. Ararat freshman Robert Heatherman won the 152-pound title with a 16-0 victory against Windham’s Eric Cash.

Brunswick’s Christian Jensen was runner-up to Cody Craig at 106.

WESTERN CLASS B: Mountain Valley won the regional title at Winslow High with 152 points, while Wells was second with 128 points and had eight wrestlers qualify for the state meet at Morse High.


Fryeburg Academy finished third (121.5), with Erskine Academy (94) and York (90) rounding out the top five of the 11-team meet.

Mountain Valley had seven finalists. Ethan Boucher (120), Jacob Thornton (126), Brandon Gill (132), Dakota Jacques (145) and Zach Cross (182) won their weight classes.

Wells was led by individual champions Colin Sevigney at 138 pounds and Michael Curtis at 195. Isaac Desrochers (120) and Tommy Cryer (132) finished second, Cryer losing a 6-2 overtime decision to Gill.

In one of the state’s most anticipated matches, Gardiner sophomore Peter Del Gallo, the New England champion at 106 pounds as a sophomore, beat Mountain Valley’s Caleb Austin 6-1 in the 113-pound final.

Willy MacFawn won the 170-pound title for Fryeburg. Zach Handley of York won the 220-pound class. 

EASTERN CLASS B: Nine Camden Hills wrestlers reached the finals and 12 qualified for the state championships as the Windjammers won the regional at Belfast with 203 points, just ahead of Ellsworth (194.5).

Foxcroft Academy was third with 159 in the 10-team meet.

Winning individual titles for Camden Hills were Hilary Merrifield (106), Zac Annis (113) and Connor Winchenbach (152).

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.