LEWISTON — Joe Perry and Erik Cooper provided the 13 seconds of offense that decided the game Saturday night as St. Norbert, ranked first in both national polls, won its third title in four years with a 3-1 victory against Wisconsin-Stevens Point (22-6-2) in the NCAA Division III men’s hockey championship game at the Colisee.

The Green Knights (28-3-1) have played in seven of the past 11 title games, winning four.

After 13 scoreless minutes, the Green Knights scored twice in 13 seconds. Perry took a pass from Tyler Zepeda and made it 1-0 at 13:06. Cullen Bradshaw won the ensuing faceoff, drawing the puck back to Michael Hill, who found Blake Thompson in the zone. Thompson sent the puck to Cooper for the shot and a 2-0 lead.

St. Norbert goalie David Jacobson, the most outstanding player when St. Norbert won the 2012 title, entered the final with a 22-1-1 record, a 1.24 goals-against average and a .942 save percentage with seven shutouts. He stopped all 14 shots he faced in the first two periods before Garrett Ladd converted an assist from Joe Kalisz for the Pointers (22-6-2) after 45 seconds of the third.

But Marian Fiala countered for the Green Knights five minutes later, just as a tripping penalty on Scott Henegar of Wisconsin-Stevens Point was expiring.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.