Awards and Honors

Alvernia University, Reading, Pennsylvania.: Victoria Oliver, Brunswick, was named a member of Beta Kappa Chi Honor Society for Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Connecticut College, New London: Chris DiLisio, North Yarmouth, has been inducted into Psi Chi, the National Honor Society of Psychology.

Emerson College, Boston: John Bickerstaff of York and Kelsey Doherty of Biddeford, have been inducted into the Gold Key Honor Society

Lyndon State College, Lyndonville, Vermont: Lauriana Gaudet of Falmouth was inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta national honor society.

Plymouth State University, Plymouth, New Hampshire: Josephine Ganem of York was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi collegiate honor society.

Providence College, Providence, Rhode Island: Sarah Bolduc, Cumberland, was inducted into Alpha Upsilon Alpha, the national honor society for reading; Jacob O’Neill, Windham, was inducted into Omicron Delta Epsilon, the national honor society for economics; Elizabeth Tangney of Dayton was inducted into Sigma Delta Pi, the national honor society for Spanish.

St. Lawrence University, Canton, N.Y.: Andrew Grennon of Cape Elizabeth has been selected for membership in Gamma Sigma Alpha, the National Academic Honor Society.

Maine Community College System students have been honored at a recent ceremony with the Student of the Year Award for academic success and campus and community involvement. The award winners were selected by college faculty and staff. Each received the John H. Lapoint Jr. Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000. CMCC: Shelby Lynne Neuschwanger, East Wilton;Central Maine Community College; Kaitlyn L. Kinsey, Fort Fairfield; Eastern Maine Community College; Timothy McDonald, Madison, Kennebec Valley Community College; Jessica Lahey, Presque Isle, Northern Maine Community College; Leanna Shields, Biddeford, Southern Maine Community College; Becky Lynn Washburn, East Machias, Washington County Community College; Rhonda Phillips-Perseille, Dayton, York County Community College.

University of Findlay, Ohio: Merit scholarships, awarded beginning with the freshman year and renewable for up to four additional years, were given to Alyssa Dulong, South Berwick, $15,000; Gabrielle Durant, Freeport, $14,000; Madison Omo, Bath, $9,500.

University of Maine at Farmington: The following Maine students have been named Michael D. Wilson Scholars, which provides top students with faculty mentorship and project funding for undergraduate research: Amanda Barrows, Union; Curtis Cole, Pittston; Grace Kendall, Buckfield; Alana Knapp, Kingfield; Carlee Knox, Saco; Nicole Lejonhud, Hebron; Sean Slattery, Farmington; Mallory Smith, South Berwick; Tobey Tozier, Jefferson; Cadyn Wilson, Hallowell.

University of Rhode Island, Kingston: Alex Shaw of York, was inducted into the Order of the Engineer, a national professional organization.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.