KENNEBUNK — Christopher Cluff defeated incumbent William Ward Jr. in the race for a seat on the Kennebunk Board of Selectmen on Tuesday, 1,213 to 933.

Write-in candidate Merton Brown won the three-way race for town clerk with 700 votes, unseating current Town Clerk Joanna Moran, who had 673 votes and besting candidate Sharon Monahan, who had 642 votes.

In uncontested races, David Cluff was elected as trustee for Kennebunk Light & Power; John Price was named trustee for the Kennebunk Sewer District; and Robert Emmons was elected trustee of the Kennebunk Water District.

In addition to those elections, all referendum items passed during Tuesday’s voting. Almost $11.5 million was approved for general government services; zoning ordinances passed; and voters also approved a measure that authorizes selectmen to sell the parcel of land commonly referred to as the Route 1 South Rest Area, with the goal of opening up that parcel for commercial development.

        filed under: