1 Yarmouth: The eight-time defending state champions show no sign of loosening their grip on the Class B title. Seniors Caitlin Teare, Sarah Myers and Emma Torres and junior Lucy Alexander lead a strong Nordic contingent. Junior Anna Bouton and sophomore Hannah Van Alstine do likewise for a young Alpine squad.

2 Falmouth: Senior Anna Morin (Class A skimeister), junior London Bernier and sophomore Lucy Mahoney each had a pair of top-10 Nordic finishes at states. Senior Maggie Coster, juniors Krysia Lesniak and Alex Shapiro and sophomore Audrey Morin scored in Alpine.

3 Freeport: After winning consecutive Class C titles, the Falcons moved up to Class B last winter and placed third overall. Senior Wynne Cushing leads the Alpine squad, and classmate Lizzy Martin and junior Lily Johnston spearhead the Nordic contingent.

4 Cape Elizabeth: Senior Emma Landes, junior Emma Dvorozniak and sophomores Kinnon McGrath and Caroline Paclat return from the defending Class B Alpine state champion. An improved Nordic squad, led by seniors Amelia Morrissey and Rhoen Fiutak, could lift the Capers into overall contention.

5 Merriconeag: Senior Samantha Pierce leads the four-time defending Class C Nordic champion along with junior Fiona Ahearne (not to be confused with senior Fiona Chace-Donahue or sophomore Fiona Libby, making Merriconeag far and away the Fiona-est team in Maine).


1 Yarmouth: Seeking a third overall Class B title in four years, the Clippers are coming off a Nordic state title but need four new scorers. Veterans Tim Pietropaoli, Henry Becker and Henry Jones lead the way. Senior Jake Inger heads an Alpine contingent that includes junior Jack Diggins and sophomore George Jutras.

2 Falmouth: Runners-up to Mt. Blue in Class A in the overall competition, Falmouth is well-positioned to defend its Nordic title with returning seniors Gabe Mahoney, Iain Kurry, Scott Lambert and Ethan Cantlin. Junior Tom Lesniak leads an Alpine team that lacks depth.

3 Freeport: Runners-up in Class B after doing likewise in Class C two years in a row, the Falcons surged ahead of Yarmouth in the final slalom event and once more will challenge. Seniors Blake Enrico, Ryder Bennell and Caleb Abbott lead in Alpine, and sophomore Bennett Hight heads a young Nordic squad.

4 Gray-New Gloucester: Fourth in Class B the past two winters, the Patriots return a small but solid group led by two-time skimeister Eric Wilcox, a senior, and junior Ben Rogers, a Nordic specialist.

5 Merriconeag: The two-time defending Class C Nordic champion is looking to make it three in a row with seniors Graham Roeber, Zach Neveu and Lars Gundersen, junior Forrest McCurdy and sophomore Tucker Pierce pushing the pace.

This story was updated at 8:15 a.m. on December 26th to correct the name of Cape Elizabeth’s Emma Landes. A previous version had misidentified her as Emma Torres.