The Margaret Chase Smith Library has named the winners of its 19th annual essay contest for Maine high school seniors on the topic of U.S. immigration policy. First prize of $1,000 was awarded to Diana Tyutyunnyk of Orono High School; second place and $500 went to Rachel Kocik of Hampden Academy; and third place and $250 were awarded to Taylor Plourde of Lisbon High School. Honorable mention prizes of $50 were awarded to Van Boardman from Waterville Senior High School, Jessica Boulet from Saint Dominic Academy in Auburn, Ezra Merriman Briggs from Briggs Home School in Lubec, Adam Malinauskas from Dexter Regional High School, and Grace Pouliot from Marshwood High School in South Berwick.

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, N.Y.: Nathaniel Bennett of Oxford, a student at Hebron Academy, received the Rensselaer Medal and scholarship for excellence in science and mathematics. The scholarship is guaranteed for up to five years at $15,000 per year for students who are accepted and enrolled at the college.

Wells High School: Senior Seamus McDonough was selected as a senator for American Legion Boys Nation in the Washington, D.C., area, held July 17 to 24. The program highlights civic training and leadership development with a focus on Americanism. McDonough also was elected governor of Maine Boys State, as well as municipal party chair and state party chair. Peter Spectre of Belfast Area High School was the other Maine representative.

SIS Bank of Sanford awarded $25,000 in scholarships to graduating high school seniors in Maine and New Hampshire. Maine recipients are: Sanford High School: Abigail Cushing, Vanessa Caron, Scott Lemay, Looey Teung and Savanna Carlson and Kelsey Lizotte-Johnson was awarded the Duprez Family Memorial Scholarship; Wells High School: Brian Marrero and Sarah Trent; York High School: Samantha Fagone, Hannah Armstrong and Mark Kalnan; Bonny Eagle High School, Standish: Joel Kessler; Edward Maxwell and James Maxwell; Massabesic High School, Waterboro: Remington Gaetjens, Haley Bantz and Audrey Robidoux; Noble High School, North Berwick: Torielle Connor and Christopher Ziadeh.

Skelton, Taintor and Abbott announced that Lewiston High School students Muna Mohamed and Drew Masse are the recipients of the Lewiston High School Mock Trial Team MVP Scholarship Award. Each student will receive a $500 college scholarship from the law firm.