Students to benefit from SMCC Foundation scholarships

The Southern Maine Community College Foundation has received two sizable donations toward student scholarships.

The donations total more than $42,000 and will benefit students in SMCC’s Early Childhood Education and Precision Machining programs.

Mary Louise Williams Haskell, of Yarmouth, donated stock valued at more than $30,000 just prior to her death to establish an endowed scholarship in her name that will benefit early childhood education students each year in perpetuity. The scholarship will be awarded starting in the 2017-18 academic year.

The Gene Haas Foundation, based in California, donated $12,500 to provide Gene Haas Scholarships to precision machining students over the next two years.

Mary Louise Williams Haskell died in June at the age of 94. In the year before her death, she decided she wanted to establish a college scholarship that would benefit ECE students, according to Sarah Haskell, one of her daughters.

“She wanted to make a difference and she especially wanted to make a difference in the field of early childhood education,” Sarah Haskell said. “She was passionate in her belief that a person’s early childhood experience and education is the foundation for a happy and successful life.”

Coincidentally, Mary Louise Williams Haskell attended SMCC’s May 22 commencement to watch her granddaughter graduate. Zoe Fowler is Sarah Haskell’s daughter and earned a degree in behavioral health.

The Gene Haas Foundation provides scholarships to community colleges, high schools and special educational programs that help build skills within the machining industry. The Gene Haas Scholarship will be awarded to six precision machining students who will receive approximately $2,000 each over the coming two years.


Carleton College

Camille Braun and Jacob Wasserman, both of Cape Elizabeth

Colby College

Anna E. Brogan and E. Drew Boulos, both of Cape Elizabeth

Western New England University

Jeffrey Oddy, of Scarborough

Ithaca College

William LeBlond, of Cape Elizabeth

Rachel Dick and Trevor LaRose, both of Scarborough

Lake Forest College

Natalie Devins Brusie, of Scarborough, Bachelor of Science degree with a double major in biology and math.


Shawn Everest-Ortiz, of South Portland, Bachelor of Arts in creative writing

University of Dayton

Riley McKeown, of Scarborough

University of Vermont

Laura Przybylowicz, of Scarborough, graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in mathematics

Megan Loiselle, of Scarborough, cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in environmental studies

Katherine Shottes, of Scarborough, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in middle level education

Margaret Smith, of Scarborough, graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in English

Christopher Thibeault, of South Portland, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in environmental sciences

University of Massachusetts Lowell

Tucker Carter, of South Portland

Western New England University

Jeffrey Oddy and Joseph Connors, both of Scarborough

Dean’s lists

American International

Abigail Hunter, of Cape Elizabeth

Emmanuel College

Claudia Ouellette, of South Portland

Georgia Southern University

Lydia L. Odlin, of Scarborough

Ithaca College

Emily Algeo

Lafayette College

Michael Bloom, of Falmouth


Madison Leadley and Alexandra Walker, both of Scarborough

Lycoming College

Scarborough: Andrew Chase, Molly Carter, Lindsay Dobecki, Lauren Foley, Devon Rauth; Kellen Smith, Alyssa Williamson and Morgan Sewall

Marist College

Emma Greenberg and Ryan Huber, both of Scarborough

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Lucas Dvorozniak and Thomas Feenstra, both of Cape Elizabeth

Anders Jepson and Kyle Redegeld, both of Scarborough

Logan Gaddar, of South Portland


Nolan Chase and Margaret Jacobson, both of Cape Elizabeth

Michael Guesev, Eric Johnson, Sarah Kearns, Alexander Kyte and Maria Quartararo, all of Scarborough

Alden Porter, of South Portland

Roger Williams

Madison Botelho, of Cape Elizabeth

Sydney Martin, Justin Reynolds, Kristina Salafia and Andrew Simons, all of Scarborough

Sarah Micucci, of South Portland


Julia Raffel, of Scarborough

University of Maine Augusta

Jonathan Call and Nadezda Hinds, both of Scarborough

University of Maine at Farmington

Cape Elizabeth: Christina Kouros

Scarborough: Rebecca Beatty, Caitlyn Connolly, Nathaniel Duggan, Amanda Ledue, Parisa Mohabbati and Sarah Pritchard

South Portland: Hannah Calkin, Paige Carter, Emily Gray and Spencer Lloyd-Rees

Wittenberg University

Madeline Kraft, of Cape Elizabeth

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: