Falmouth teen selected as Auxiliary Girls Nation senator

Hannah Michaud of Falmouth was one of 100 young women selected to attend the 70th American Legion Auxiliary Girls Nation session in Washington, D.C., July 23-30. As part of the program, two outstanding citizens, known as “senators,” are selected during 50 ALA Girls State sessions held across the country. These students then represent their respective states at ALA Girls Nation. The six-day leadership conference provides aspiring young women leaders with practical insight into the workings of government, and promotes youth civic engagement, and creates friendships and memories that last a lifetime.

Michaud, a rising senior at Falmouth High School, is involved with the Falmouth Theatre Company and volunteers with Portland’s Children’s Museum and Theatre of Maine.

A key component of the ALA Girls Nation program is the mock senate sessions in which the girls write, caucus, and debate bills. Campaigns are held to elect party officials and an ALA Girls Nation president and vice president. In addition the senators hear from guest speakers and visit the Pentagon, Arlington National Cemetery, the D.C. monuments, White House, and also meet with their respective state senators and representatives on Capitol Hill.

North Yarmouth Academy Honor Roll

The following students who live in The Forecaster’s coverage area attained honor roll status for the second semester:

Highest Honors

Grade 5: Laurel Buehner, Anson Dana, John Hegarty, Campbell Litz, Seamus Rohde, Sarah Stronge

Grade 6: Owen Frank, Oliver Hemphill, Lila Jackson, Abigail King, Elliott Oney, Charles Rohde, Jack Schaeffer, Madeleine Vaillancourt, Blythe Thompson

Grade 7: Camille Beaudoin, Eleanor Commons, Nathan Cook, Taylor Hemenway, Wylie Jacobs, Elaine Lemieux, Annie Sillin, Tellie Stamaris, Anna Yankee

Grade 8: Sydney Billings, Rachel Burns, Benjamin Frank, Ellen Hilscher, Ark Lu, Afton Morton, Eliza Tod

Grade 9: Isabelle Coleman, Sydney Gilman, Xander Kostelnik, Margaret Larson, Alexandra Markonish, Andrew Schaeffer, Elizabeth Sevigny, Reed Silvers

Grade 10: Richard Hilscher, Kara Jensen, Leo Webster

Grade 11: Sarah Austin, Alexander Bartone, Andrew Keith, Kiersten Marr, Manna Zhao, Savannah Shaw

Grade 12: Julia Blackwell, Morgan Elkins, Katherine Hilscher, Wyatt Nice

High Honors

Grade 5: Carson Gall, Lucas Markonish, Aiden Skillman, Clara Taylor, Vy Tran

Grade 6: Henry Bergeron, Tiger DiMillo, Aidan Lacombe, James Tourigny

Grade 7: Molly Healey, Michael Hynes, Keegan Irwin, William Jackson, Anders Jonsson, Olivia Juve, Marina Piehl, Jack Thibodeau

Grade 8: Madison Argitis, Spencer Barton, Marley Boettcher, Maya Davis, Pierce Manchester, Cameron Pickle, Bronwen Ramsey-Brimberg, Hannah Mills

Grade 9: Abram Buehner, Carson Fassett, Hannah Gagne, Elora Griswold, Cooper Hogan, Jack Lent, Joshua Soucy

Grade 10: Megan Alberding, Reece Bartolini, Charlotte Collins, Evan Davis, Parker Elkins, Justin Guo, Michael Pitts

Grade 11: Michael Adams, Galen Arnold, Zelda Clegg, Kyle Kostelnik, Gabrielle Linscott, Amber Liu, Robert Murray, Anna Rosenfeld, Isabelle See, Jeremy Thelven

Grade 12: Stanzin Angmo, Jenna Block, Acacia Bright, Sarah Cooper, Linnea Hull, Peter Li, Sonia Lin, Claire Maurer, Jake Rasch, Mackenzie Sangster, Callahan Sturgeon, Adrienne Tracy, Celine Xu


Grade 6: Bryce Poulin

Grade 7: Patrick Alberding, Elyse Baron, Salem Griswold, Samuel Soroff

Grade 8: Emily Beisel-Bolen, Jack Bontatibus, Elizabeth Gagnon, Lila Henderson, Linus Maurer Samuel Telsey, Daniel Zajkowski

Grade 9: Lloyd Lathrop, Clara Mulvihill, Amber Rose, Joseph Strabley

Grade 10: Rachel Bolling, Troy Hou, Isabella MacMahon, Jack Sillin

Grade 11: Amelia Demetropoulos, Daniel Edgerton-Dickey, Samuel Jackson, Samuel Johnson, Hunter Mahoney, John Malcom, Dana Nichols, Thomas Pitts, Henry Quesada, Cameron Woods

Grade 12: Emily Baker, Dagen Braun, Hannah Chapman, Hailey Frager, Anna Laprise, Elizabeth McIntosh, Eleanor Rich, Emily Taylor

Dean’s lists

Ithaca College

Nicholas Vogel, of North Yarmouth, a student athlete majoring in physics, was named to the Empire 8 Athletic Conference President’s List.

James Madison University

Christian Ford, of Falmouth

Juniata University

Nicole Elizabeth Jordan, of North Yarmouth

Keene State College

Michael Lamare, of Falmouth


Michael Bloom, of Falmouth

Lasell College

Jade Bermudez, of Freeport

Loyola University

Patrick O’Shea and Kyle Wood, both of Cumberland

Ryan Conley, of Falmouth

Lyndon State College

Lauriana Gaudet, of Falmouth

Marist College

Jonathan Higgins and Madison Horwich, both of Cumberland Center

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: