FREEPORT — The only contested election on the Nov. 8 general election ballot will be for seats on the Sewer District Board of Trustees.

Races for Town Council and Regional School Unit 5 Board of Directors will be uncontested. No one took out papers to run for the one open seat on the Water District Board of Trustees.

Nomination papers were due back to Town Hall on Sept. 14.

Incumbent Thomas Hudak is running for a seat on the sewer board, as are Timothy Whitacre and Earl Rowe Jr. The two available seats are each for three-year terms. Clinton Goodenow Jr. is not seeking re-election.

Two, three-year seats on the Town Council are up for election. Councilor Scott Gleeson is seeking his second term in District 1 and John Egan is running for an at-large seat. At-large Councilor Jim Hendricks is not seeking re-election.

Peter Anzuini is running for the District 3 council seat that was vacated by former Councilor Kristina Egan, who resigned in July. The election will be for the last year of Egan’s unexpired term. 

For the two, three-year seats on the RSU 5 board, board member Valy Steverlynck is seeking re-election and will be joined on the ballot by Sarah Woodard.

Water board member Michael Ashby isn’t seeking re-election and no one took out papers for the three-year seat.

Kate Gardner can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter: @katevgardner.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.