Carson Atherley, Bangor senior midfielder: A Maine Soccer Coaches’ All-American and All-New England selection, Atherley led the Rams to a Class A state title. He was the MSCA Class A player of the year and Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference player of the year.

Jackson Fotter, Gorham senior forward: An All-New England selection and the SMAA offensive player of the year, Fotter scored 31 goals to lead the Rams to the Class A state final.

Shammah Gahomera, Westbrook senior midfielder: Gahomera scored eight goals in the last three games of the regular season to lead the Blazes into the playoffs. The first-team All-SMAA selection finished with 16 goals and seven assists.

Luke Groothoff, Yarmouth junior midfielder: The MSCA Class B player of the year and All-New England selection scored 10 goals – including two in the state final – and added six assists to help the Clippers earn their third straight Class B title.

Josiah Krul, Camden Hills senior midfielder: After an injury-plagued regular season, the All-New England pick accounted for all four of his team’s playoff goals as the Windjammers made it to the Class A North final.

Oneko Lowe, Washington Academy senior midfielder: The MSCA Class C player of the year helped Washington Academy go undefeated and win its second straight Class C state title.

Jonata Mbongo, Deering senior defender: Mbongo was the SMAA’s defensive player of the year as he helped the Rams earn a bye in the first round of the Class A South playoffs.

Noah Stracqualursi, Scarborough senior forward: The first-team all-SMAA and MSCA All-South pick led the Red Storm with 20 goals and eight assists.

Khalid Suja, South Portland senior midfielder: A defensive midfielder, Suja’s contributions could be seen in his passing and his ability to dictate the pace. Coach Bryan Hoy said Suja was South Portland’s top defender.

John Henry Villanueva, Gray-New Gloucester senior goalkeeper: The Western Maine Conference goalkeeper of the year posted eight shutouts this season and had a 0.63 goals-against average. In three years, he had 270 saves and 17 shutouts.

Tyler Welch, Bangor Christian senior midfielder: The Class D player of the year had two goals and two assists in a 4-1 win over Greenville for the Class D state crown. He totaled 23 goals and 20 assists for the unbeaten Patriots.

Coach of the Year

Mike Hagerty, Yarmouth: Despite losing all but four starters to graduation, the Clippers won their third straight Class B title, giving Hagerty eight championships in 20 years at Yarmouth.

– Taylor Vortherms

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.