AUGUSTA — It appeared all 1,200 residents of Vinalhaven made the trip to the Augusta Civic Center on Saturday to watch their girls’ basketball team play in the Class D South championship game.

They were rewarded handsomely, as the second-seeded Vikings earned their first regional title in 34 years, beating No. 5 Forest Hills, 61-45.

“It’s huge having everyone on our backs supporting us,” said Vinalhaven junior Gilleyanne Davis-Oakes, who won the Patricia Gallagher award as the tournament’s outstanding player.

Vinalhaven (17-4) will face Shead in the Class D state championship game Saturday at Cross Insurance Center in Bangor. Forest Hills finishes its season at 12-9.

Forest Hills double-teamed Davis-Oakes in the low post in the first quarter and held her to two points. Her teammates, led by Paige Dennison, took up the slack as they raced to a 14-2 lead.

Davis-Oakes finished with 15 points and 11 rebounds, while Ashlyn Littlefield scored 18 points and Dennison had 11. The Vikings led from start to finish but broke the game open with a 14-0 run early in the second half that pushed the lead to 43-16.

Forest Hills, which upset No. 1 Rangeley in the semifinals, was led by seniors Caitlin Logston and Patricia Lessard. Logston, who entered the game 28 points shy of 1,000 for her career, finished with 24 points and 14 rebounds. Lessard had 10 points and seven rebounds.


NEW ENGLAND QUALIFIER: Cody Craig of Skowhegan won his weight class for the fourth year in a row and Bradley Beaulieu earned his third straight title in the New England qualifier at Marshwood High School.

The top three wrestlers in each weight class qualified for the New England championships next weekend in Providence, Rhode Island.

Craig pinned Noah Dumas of Cony in the 106-pound final, and Beaulieu earned a 2-0 decision over Ethan Boucher of Mountain Valley at 138 pounds.

Robert Hetherman of Mt. Ararat/Brunswick was chosen as the meet’s outstanding wrestler after beating Ellsworth’s Trent Goodman in the 170-pound final, 4-2.

Other champions were Leo Amabile of Massabesic at 113, Alex Fogarty of Oceanside at 120, Caleb Austin of Mountain Valley at 126, Samson Sirois of Skowhegan at 132, Austin Shorey of Noble at 145, Peyton Cole of Ellsworth at 152, Sam Anderson of Sanford at 160, Ryan Fredette of Winslow at 182, Nolan Potter of Wells at 195, Matthew Carroll of Massabesic at 220 and David Gross of Bucksport at 285.