SANFORD — On Nov. 7 Sanford residents will cast their votes for two questions and several city government positions.


Sitting Councilor Joseph Hanslip and Deputy Mayor Maura Herlihy will seek reelection for three-year terms while Elizabeth Zielke and Crystal Helmreich aim to win seats on the council.


Current School Committee member Kendra Williams will seek another three-year term while committee member Thomas Miscio will let his term end without seeking reelection. Jennifer Marie Davie and Emily Sheffield will both vie for a seat on the School Committee.


Roland Cote is currently running unopposed for the three-year term of Sanford Water District Trustee.


Keith Patterson and Andrew Marby are currently running unopposed for the three-year term of Sanford Sewer District Trustees. Voters are asked to vote for two candidates.


Voters will be asked to approve or reject a charter amendment on public hearings on ordinances. The amendment states a proposed ordinance may be introduced by a councilor to the agenda of any regular or special meeting of the council. A public meeting would follow after 10 days of the proposed ordinance being published and available for the public to view. The ordinance could not be rejected or accepted until 14 days after the public meeting. If an ordinance is amended and its meaning is changed substantially, the council may not adopt it until the ordinance or its amended sections have been subjected to all the procedures required in the case of a newly introduced ordinance.


Voters will be asked to reject or approve whether a person must file a declaration of write-in candidacy with the city clerk on the tenth business day following the filing deadline for municipal nomination papers in order to be considered a declared write-in candidate.

— Staff Writer Ryder Schumacher can be reached at 282-1535, or via email at [email protected]

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: