Sara Moppin joined the law firm of Preti Flaherty.
Moppin’s practice areas include mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance matters, business transactions, commercial law, contract issues and finance. She lives in Portland.

Elizabeth High, a principal with LeBlanc & Young in Portland, was named the 2018 Trusts and Estates Lawyer of the Year by Best Lawyers.

One lawyer in each specialty in each community is honored as the Lawyer of the Year.

High is a partner at LeBlanc & Young, a specialty law firm with a statewide practice devoted exclusively to estate planning, trust and estate administration, charitable giving, adoptions, guardianships, conservatorships and related areas.

Berman & Simmons announced that six of its attorneys were selected for the Best Lawyers in America 2018 directory.

In addition, attorney Benjamin Gideon was named a Maine Lawyer of the Year for personal injury litigation for plaintiffs. Attorney Jodi Nofsinger was named a Maine Lawyer of the Year for medical malpractice law for plaintiffs.

The attorneys earning individual recognition are: Gideon, of Freeport; Daniel Kagan of Freeport; Nofsinger, of Portland; Steven Silin of Freeport; Julian Sweet of Portland; and Jack Simmons.

Forty-two Preti Flaherty attorneys were named to the 2018 Best Lawyers in America.

Nominations are based on an intensive peer-review survey.

For the list, visit www.

Verrill Dana was recognized as a top firm for female attorneys by both the National Law Journal and Law360.

The firm was ranked seventh in the nation in the National Law Journal’s NLJ 500 Women’s Scorecard and was also named a Law360 Ceiling Smasher for its percentage of female equity partners compared to other firms its size.

In 2016, about 39 percent of the attorneys at Verrill Dana were women, and 41.5 percent of the firm’s equity partners were women, surpassing national averages by about 5 percent and 20 percent, respectively.

Eight attorneys from Skelton Taintor & Abbott were named to the 2018 Best Lawyers in America list.

They are: Jill Checkoway, Bryan Dench, Ronald Lebel, Sarah Mitchell, Michael Poulin, Norman Rattey, Stephen Wade and Rebecca Webber.

filed under: