YORK COUNTY — The towns of Buxton and Dayton held local elections on Tuesday.

In Buxton, Mark Blier was re-elected to the Board of Selectmen with 276 votes. Scott Warchol was elected to the board with 234 votes, filling a seat vacated by Clifford Emery. Warchol won by a slim margin, besting candidate Thomas Peters by just one vote. Other candidates in the race were Roger Tracy with 222 votes, Caleb Porter with 179 votes and Mark Smith with 26 votes.

Craig Lefebvre, who ran unnopposed, was elected to the Planning Board with 525 votes. Emery, who is vacating his seat as selectman, was also elected to the Planning Board with 5 write-in votes. Thomas Peters received 4 write-in votes.

Sheridan Bennett, who ran unopposed, was elected to one of three available seats on the Budget Committee with 538 votes. Roger Tracy received 6 write-in votes, and Caleb Porter and Thomas Peters each received 4 write-in votes. According to Town Clerk John Meyers, the tie for third place creates a vacancy, which the selectmen will likely appoint someone to fill.

The Buxton annual town meeting will be held at 9 a.m. on Saturday.

In Dayton, Scott Littlefield, who ran unopposed, was re-elected to the Select Board. Michael Souliere ran unopposed for road commissioner and James Morin and Arelle Haris ran unopposed for school board.

The Dayton annual town meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Thursday at the town offices.

Staff Writer Liz Gotthelf can be reached at 780-9015 or by email at [email protected].

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: