SANFORD – On Election Day Nov. 5, voters will choose two candidates from a slate of four for Sanford City Council.

For the Sanford School Committee, only two people are running for two openings, so they are virtually assured election, barring a successful write-in campaign.

City Clerk Sue Cote said she has had no requests for write-in status for either City Council or School Committee. Those seeking that designation must file a declaration with the City Clerk’s Office by Sept. 20, and fulfill all other qualifications for the office sought.

For Sanford City Council, incumbents Robert Stackpole and John Tuttle are each seeking reelection to three-year terms and are challenged by former councilors Dianne Connolly and Fred Smith.

Stackpole, a retired educator, was elected in November 2016.

Tuttle, a former longtime Maine legislator who served in both the House and Senate served a one-year term  on the City Council and was elected to a three-year term in November 2016.

Sanford’s elected candidates begin their terms in January. Stackpole and Tuttle, as winners in the 2016 race, took the oath of office on Jan. 2, 2017.

Smith previously served two terms on the City Council but did not seek re-election in 2018, citing work commitments, but is in the running for a three-year term Nov. 5.

Connolly, a member of the Sanford Planning Board, served on the City Council during the last six months of  2014, when she was appointed to the position following the resignation of then-councilor Ken Burgess.  She has previously run for a City Council  seat.

There are two, three-year openings on the Sanford School Committee. In the running are incumbent John Roux and former School Committee member Jonathan Mapes.

The city also conducts elections of trustees for Sanford Sewerage District and Sanford Water District.

Candidates for both entities are running unopposed.

Incumbent Roger W. Durant is seeking re-election to the board of trustees of the Sanford Water District.

At Sanford Sewerage District, incumbent Kevin Eaton is seeking re-election to a three-year term. Somnang Laurendeau is running to fill a vacant unexpired term that commences Nov. 6 and expires Dec, 31, 2022; while Nathaniel Hitchcock is seeking to fill a vacant unexpired term that commences Nov. 6 and expires Dec. 31., 2020.

— Senior Staff Writer Tammy Wells can be contacted at 780-9016 or [email protected]

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: