Dean’s List
Adam Creutz, University of Maine at Augusta; Jeffrey Bassett, Southern New Hampshire University; Tyler Anne Britland, University of Maine at Machias; Brandon Lovell, Dominic Virginio, Thomas College; Thomas Gainey, Xavier University, Lydia Dennett, Hartwick College, Alicia Adams, Jason Allshouse, Kevin Broydrick, Kaisha Dunne, Elizabeth Kelley, Connor McNeill, Scott Olafsen, University of Maine at Farmington; Jenna Finegold, Charles Thaxton, Bates College.

McAuley High School
awards scholarships
PORTLAND — Catherine McAuley High School has awarded three scholarships to incoming freshmen based on the results of the High School Placement Test.
Taylor Church, daughter of Jeff and Renee Church of Windham, was awarded McAuley’s Academic Excellence Scholarship, with a four-year full tuition scholarship.
Caroline Martin, daughter of William Martin and Jennifer Anderson of Old Orchard Beach, received McAuley’s Academic Scholarship with a four-year half-tuition scholarship.
Samantha Rideout, daughter of Kevin and Sandy Rideout of New Gloucester, received McAuley’s President’s Scholarship of $4,000.

Portland school district staff
earn professional awards
PORTLAND — The Portland School Committee honored six staff members for outstanding professional achievements.
Five teachers, including Lorraine Bobinsky of Reiche Elementary School, Karen MacDonald and Ann Young of King Middle School, Emily Serway of Riverton Elementary School, and Rebecca Stern of Deering High School earned the national teacher certification.
Barbara Dee, director of Portland student support services, was elected by her peers as Maine’s Special Education Administrator of the Year for 2008.