North Yarmouth Academy recently honored its top middle and upper school winter athletes.
The varsity boys’ basketball team, which reached the preliminary round of the Western Class C tournament, named Andrew Gendron as Most Valuable Player. Ben Randall won the Coaches’ Award.
Girls’ varsity basketball, which also made it to the preliminary round, gave its MVP award to Kate Merrill and its Coaches’ Award to Hillary Keach.
Both varsity hockey teams made the Division II Prep League playoffs for the first time this winter.
The boys’ squad named Kyle Williams MVP and gave Simon Hebert the Coaches’ Award.
The boys’ junior varsity team gave its Coaches’ Award to Cailean Lane. Jordan Haskell won MVP.
Girls’ varsity hockey named Ashley Salerno MVP. Bugsy Clemetson won the Coaches’ Award.
The JV team gave Coaches’ Awards to Caroline Bowne and Karoliina Kuusisto.
Boys’ indoor track named state champions Sam Fear and Henry Sterling MVPs. Victor Churchill was given the Coaches’ Award.
On the girls’ side, Adrianna Twombly and Marley Witham won Coaches’ Awards.
In the pool, Ian Nichols won boys’ team MVP. Even Siepert won the Coaches’ Award.
On the girls’ side, Rachel Clegg was named MVP, while Katie Paige took home the Coaches’ Award.
The boys’ Nordic ski team gave Sam Gray the MVP and Mason Norton the Coaches’ Award.
The girls’ team named Abbie McIvor MVP. Ruth Gray won the Coaches’ Award.
The Upper School Athletic Council winners were seniors Peter Hyndman and Danielle Walton.
Middle schools were given Coaches’ Awards and Most Improved honors.
The winners of the Coaches’ Awards were as follows:
Orange boys’ hockey Noah Seely
Black boys’ hockey Mark Brown and Cam Patch
Girls’ hockey Emily Claytor
7th grade boys’ basketball Jake Dremann
8th grade boys’ basketball Burke Paxton
7th grade girls’ basketball Alex Logan
8th grade girls’ basketball Mallory Ianno
Boys’ Nordic skiing Matt Truesdale
Girls’ Nordic skiing Laura Frank
Winners of the Most Improved Award were:
Orange boys’ hockey Ben Claytor
Black boys’ hockey Sam Landry
Girls’ hockey Marina Poole
7th grade boys’ basketball Michael McIntosh
8th grade boys’ basketball Aaron Guiseley
7th grade girls’ basketball Sara Thompson
8th grade girls’ basketball Conley Dion
Boys’ Nordic skiing Josef Biberstein
Girls’ Nordic skiing Michaela Weeks
Oliver Silverson and Molly Strabley were named the winners of the Middle School Athletic Council awards.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]

Sidebar Elements

NYAGNskiMcIvor.JPGNordic ski standout Abby McIvor was one of many NYA athletes honored at the school’s recent Winter Awards Night.