BROOKLYN, Mich. – Another race, another pole for Kurt Busch. This is a drill he’s happy to get used to.

“To be on the pole three weeks, what it does — there are so many benefits behind the scenes,” Busch said. “Picking your pit selection first, having track position right away in the race. … You could have a slow pit crew, and you have that first pit box, that’s going to help you get out in front of guys throughout the day.”

Busch won his third consecutive pole in the NASCAR Sprint Cup series, finishing first in qualifying Saturday at Michigan International Speedway with a lap of 188.699 miles per hour. He’s the first driver to win three straight poles since Brian Vickers in 2009, and two qualifying sessions were canceled during that streak. The last person to win three poles in three races was Ryan Newman in 2007.

Busch is sixth in the points standings and has finished in the top 10 in three straight races, including a second-place showing last weekend at Pocono Raceway, but he hasn’t won yet in 2011.

David Reutimann (188.684 mph) was second in qualifying for today’s race, and Matt Kenseth (188.620) was third. Vickers, who was fourth, was the leader at one point, but Kenseth, Busch and Reutimann all posted faster laps toward the end.

NATIONWIDE: Carl Edwards raced to his fourth Nationwide victory of the year, passing teammate Ricky Stenhouse Jr. with less than 10 laps remaining at Michigan International Speedway.

Kyle Busch finished third, followed by pole-sitter Paul Menard.

INDYCAR: Dario Franchitti won the pole for the IndyCar race today at the Milwaukee Mile with an average speed of 170.841 mph in West Allis, Wis.

Helio Castroneves qualified second, followed by Scott Dixon.

Simona De Silvestro was taken to a hospital after she crashed during her qualifying run. A series spokesperson said she was awake and alert.

BEECH RIDGE: David Oliver of Scarborough beat Bill Rodgers of Old Orchard Beach and Steve Berry of Gorham to win the Pro Series 100.

Don Colpritt took the checkered flag in the Sport Series 100, followed by Kenny Harrison and Don Morse. Other winners were Dan Bean in the Wildcat division and Trevor Graffam in the Road Runners division.