Matt Halfmann joined Kennebunk Savings as vice president, banking office manager of its Eliot branch.

Halfmann brings more than 12 years of banking experience. Most recently, he served as a mortgage loan officer and branch manager with banks in the New Hampshire’s Greater Seacoast area.

Ted Dufour joined Montalvo as its new software engineer.

Dufour previously worked for Montalvo from 2003 to 2006 and has acted as an independent consultant since 2011.

He has 35 years of experience in semiconductors, database analytics, and software and electrical engineering, with numerous companies including: National Semiconductor, Fairchild Semiconductor, Diebold Inc and Hampton Systems.


SIS Bank has hired John Cogan as an investment executive.

Cogan brings 12 years of investment experience as a financial consultant for such institutions as Federal Savings Bank and Edward Jones. He will service the Portsmouth, N.H., York and Wells branches.


Doug Foerster was promoted to local sales manager for Time Warner Cable Media Sales.

Foerster, of Scarborough, joined Time Warner Cable Media as an account executive in 2003. Prior to that, he worked for Morgan Stanley, the Portland Pirates and the Maine Mariners Hockey Club.

Bar Harbor Bank & Trust promoted two of its staff:


Chris Perry was promoted to vice president, relationship manager – middle market.

Michelle Curtis was named vice president, regional market manager for its branches in Topsham, South China and Augusta.

Perry, of Portland, joined Bar Harbor Bank & Trust in 2012 as vice president, regional market manager for midcoast and southern Maine. He has more than 12 years of experience in the financial services industry.

Curtis, of Brunswick, joined in 2011, starting in its manager training program. She was promoted to branch relationship manager in 2012 when the bank opened its office in Topsham.

Dr. Andrew Pershing was promoted to chief scientific officer at The Gulf of Maine Research Institute.

Pershing will lead the institute in conducting vital research to understand and manage the Gulf of Maine ecosystem. He was serving as a research scientist at GMRI and a faculty member at the University of Maine’s School of Marine Sciences.



Oakhurst recently recognized its top dairy farms for outstanding quality production at the company’s annual producers meeting.

For the second year in a row, Chartrand Farm in Norridgewock, operated by Elroy and Constance Chartrand, received the top honor of 2013 Producer of the Year. Oakhurst evaluates each farm across a variety of categories that examine milk quality, cow health and farm cleanliness.

The following is a list of the top 10 Maine farms that were recognized for overall quality:

The second place award was given to the Smith Farm (Larry Smith) of Bangor; third place, Twin Meadow Farm (Keith Scott) of Charleston; fourth place, R.E. Hemond Inc. (Noella Hemond) of Minot; fifth place, Broadcrest Farm (Andrew Sevey) of Ripley; sixth place, Misty Meadows Farm (John and Belinda Stoughton) of Clinton; seventh place, Hemond Hill Farm (John and Irene Hemond) of Minot; eighth place, Highland Farms Inc. (Libby Bleakney) of Cornish; ninth place, Silver Maple Farms (the McKeen family) of Albion; and 10th place, Leary Farm (Tim Leary) of Saco.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.