Buxton Selectmen Chairman Cliff Emery will not be on the June ballot.

BUXTON — Six candidates are vying for two available three-year terms on the town’s Board of Selectmen while its chairman, Clifford Emery, is not seeking reelection.

Emery could not be reached by the American Journal’s deadline Wednesday.

In the only School Administrative District 6 School Board contest, two political veterans are squaring off for a three-year term.

The municipal election is set for Tuesday, June 11.

In a twist, two state representatives are seeking local posts.

Incumbent Mark Blier, elected in November to represent House District 22 in Legislature, seeks to retain his selectman’s seat but faces five challengers. They are Thomas J. Peters, Caleb G. Porter, Mark A. Smith Sr., Roger C. Tracy and Scott A. Warchol.

The deadline for filing municipal nominations was on Friday, April 12.

Emery, 65, is a longtime member of the board with multiple terms as chairman. He is president of Emery Brothers Excavating & Aggregates in Buxton.

Craig S. Lefebvre is unchallenged for a three-year Planning Board term and Sheridan W. Bennett is unopposed for a three-year term on the Budget Committee.

In SAD 6, incumbent Nathan Carlow of Buxton is unopposed for a three-year term as are the current Chairwoman Julie Bruni of Limington and Erika Creutz of Standish. Incumbent Lester Harmon of Hollis, a former chairman, is facing challenger Donald Marean, who represents House District 16 in the Legislature.

The deadline for School Board nominations was March 22. Candidates will be on ballots in each of  the five SAD 6 towns.

School Board incumbent Alan C. Dube of Standish did not file.

Robert Lowell can be reached at 780-9089 or email [email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.