Maine semifinalists listed for national scholarships

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has named some 16,000 semifinalists to its 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including more than 70 Maine high school seniors.

The 2020 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced between April and July of 2020.

Maine semifinalists for the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program, by town, include:

Augusta – Ian Harden, Cony High School
Bangor – Claire Thompson, Bangor High School and Samuel Yoo, John Bapst Memorial High School
Bar Harbor – Peter Benson, Mount Desert High School
Bath – Daniel Whitman, Homeschool
Blue Hill – Chadbourne Davis, Syra Gutow, George Stevens Academy
Brunswick – Greta Anesko, Darien Gillespie, Chapman Hall, Everett Horch, Joshua Musica, Brunswick High school
Cape Elizabeth – Eric Barber, Margaret Brewer, Chloe Butzel, Mary Isabelle Wisell, Cape Elizabeth High School
Caribou – Owen Martin, Caribou High School
Cumberland Center – Terra Gallo, Aaron Howell, Emmaline Raven, Greely High School
Ellsworth – Allison Robbins, Ellsworth High School
Falmouth – Kaitlyn Dowling, Jackson Larlee, Yujai Lin, Benjamin Potter, John Wahlig, Pawan Yerramilli, Falmouth High School
Fryeburg – Vy Nguyen, Fryeburg Academy
Gardiner – Caitlin Paul, Gardiner Area High School
Hampden – Zachary Scott, Hampden Academy
Hermon – Neily Raymond, Hermon High School
Kennebunk – Julia Connolly, Ethan Eickmann, Kennebunk High School
Lewiston – Abigail Dundore, Lewiston High School
Limestone – Christian Chagnon, Jasmine Deal, Annie Giroux, James Hawkes, Taesu Joo, Haileigh Luce, Hailey Moynihan Stevens, Oleksii Nikanov, Jay Philbrick, Maine School of Science and Mathematics
Newcastle – Aidan McCullen, Lucas Steinberger, Quinn Straus, Lincoln Academy
Oakland – Cameron Croft, Messalonskee High School
Portland – David Botana, Casco Bay High School for Expeditionary Learning; Maeve Swift, Aiden Treutel, Madeline Williams, Cheverus High School;
Glynis O’Meara, Deering High School; Julia Ayer, Porland High School; Eva Abbott, Abigail Aleshire, Matheus Geldenhuys, Emily Wagg, Waynflete School
Rockport – Danila Borodaenko, Joel Hokkanen, Camden Hills Regional High School
Saco – Caden Falardeau, Shelby Heiman, Anh Quynh, Thornton Academy
Scarborough – Madison Blanche, Scarborough High School
Skowhegan – Matush Prokop, Skowhegan Area High School
South Berwick – Ashwin Mahadevan,Theodore Yassa, Berwick Academy; Peter Adams, James Whitesell, Marshwood High School
Topsham – Lisandro Berry-Gaviria, Mount Ararat School
Wells – Tyler Evans, Wells High School
Windham – Calum Murray, Windham High School
Yarmouth – Afton Morton, North Yarmouth Academy; Sarah Smith, Yarmouth High School


Seven Sisters of Mercy honored at Mass

Fifty Sisters of Mercy gathered in Portland on Sept. 21 to celebrate the jubilees of seven sisters who have served as members of the religious congregation for a combined 470 years.

The seven jubilarians include three sisters, Sister Phyllis Doyle, Sister Mary Bernadette Hayden, and Sister Mary Fatima St. Germain, who entered the Sisters of Mercy together 70 years ago. Sister Mary Eunice Boyd, who was unable to attend the Mass, also entered the Sisters of Mercy 70 years ago, while Sister Dorothy Sullivan and Sister Kathleen Thornton are celebrating their 65th jubilees and Sister Anne Fitzpatrick her 60th.

The Mass at St. Pius X Church was celebrated by Bishop Robert P. Deeley who expressed his gratitude to the sisters.

Although Sisters of Mercy now work in a wide variety of fields, when the seven jubilarians entered, the concentration was primarily on education and nursing, and that is reflected in these sisters’ vocations.

During the jubilee Mass, all the sisters present joined in renewing their vows of chastity, poverty, obedience and service to the poor and sick.

The sisters celebrating their jubilees are members of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas Northeast Community. In all, the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas have more than 2,900 members serving in Central, South and North America, including Caribbean islands.

The Sisters of Mercy was founded by Catherine McAuley, who opened the first House of Mercy in Dublin, Ireland, in 1827. She and two companions became the first Sisters of Mercy three years later. The first Sisters of Mercy arrived in the United States from Ireland in 1843.

filed under: