July 7, 2013

Calendar: Your Arts and Entertainment Guide

(Continued from page 1)

To submit items for Calendar, send mail to GO at Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, One City Center, Portland, ME 04101, or send email to go@pressherald.com or a fax to 791-6920. Items should be submitted two weeks in advance. For information, call 791-6455.

"100 Years of Acadia National Park's Carriage Roads," Skyline Farm Carriage Museum, North Yarmouth. skylinefarm.org. Through Aug. 18.

"Henry Strater: A Life in Art," 60 of the most important works from the collection, Ogunquit Museum of American Art. ogunquitmuseum.org. Through Oct. 31.

"Big! Bad! Bold!", paintings, ceramics, fiber arts, glass, furniture, wood work and sculpture by Maine artists, The Stable Gallery, Damariscotta. stablegallerymaine.com. Through Thursday.

"The Tourist of 1913," costumes, artifacts and more show how this area became the mecca of tourism that it is today, Brick Store Museum, Kennebunk. brickstoremuseum.org. Through Sept. 14.

"Printmakers in Conversation," woodcuts by Barbara Putnam, PhoPa Gallery, Portland. phopagallery.com. Through Aug. 10.

"Points of View," paintings by Roy Germon, Littlefield Gallery, Winter Harbor. littlefieldgallery.com. Through Sunday.

"Index," group exhibition, The Hive, Kennebunk. thehivekennebunk.com. Through July 14.

"Two If By Sea ...," water views and transportation unique to coastal Maine by James Rivoli, Francine Schrock and friends, Harmons & Bartons Gallery, Portland. harmonsbartons.com. Through July 31.

"Birds of Maine," paintings by Father Paul Plante, Rangeley Outdoor Sporting Heritage Museum, Oquossoc. 864-3091. Through July 30.

"Finish Lines," clay by Adriane Herman, Rose Contemporary, Portland. rosecontemporary.com. Thursday through Aug. 10.

"The Barrell Family Collection: A Return to York," personalities and collections of one of York's most distinguished early families, Museums of Old York. oldyork.org. Through Oct. 19.

"Richard Norton's Belfast: 1978-1988" and invitational, more than 100 of Norton's hand-printed black-and-white photo-journalistic images of Belfast and Waldo County and a selection of his large color photographs, Waterfall Arts, Belfast. waterfallarts.org. Through Aug. 23.

Hannah Ineson, paintings, Savory Maine, Damariscotta. savorymainedining.com. Through July 23.

"Animal Dreams," group show explores relationships between humans and animals, featuring Susan Drucker, Meghan Howland, Martha Miller, Susan Mills, Arlene Morris, Stephen Petroff and Robert Shetterly, Portland Public Library, Lewis Gallery. portlandlibrary.com. Through July 27.

"Studies of Portland," works by Maine Artists Collective artists, Constellation Gallery, Portland. constellationart.com. Through July 11.

"I Quit," by Jim Condron, Yvette Torres Fine Art, Rockland. yvettetorresfineart.com. Through July 28.

"Popscapes," collage and pop patterns by Natalie Lanese, Space, Portland. space538.org. Through Aug. 16.

"The Thread That Connects," fiber-themed group show, Sunnyfield Studio Gallery, West Newfield. sunnyfieldstudio.com. Through July 28.

"Three Chords" by Joanne Freeman; "Travel in My Borrowed Lives" by Rachelle Agundes and Sean Downey; and "Monhegan: A New Perspective" by Emily Trenholm, University of Maine Museum of Art, Bangor. uma.maine.edu. Through Sept. 21.

"Coastal Maine & Inland New Hampshire by a Retired Engineer," works by Donald LaRochelle, Kennebunk Free Library. kennebunklibrary.com. Through July 31.

Sculpture by Tom Chapin, graphite drawings by Kate Beck and ink drawings by Ellen Golden, Icon Contemporary Art, Brunswick. 725-8157. Through Aug. 3.

Jaap Eduard Helder and Jody Johnstone, paintings and pottery, Aarhus Gallery, Belfast. aarhusgallery.com. Tuesday through July 28.

"Shake That Bird," video projections by Emilie Stark-Menneg, Coleman Burke Gallery (Fort Andross), Brunswick. colemanburke.com. Through July 26.

"Afterlife," works by Eric Leppanen using found and reclaimed paint, Asymmetrick Arts, Rockland. 594-2020. Through July 26.

Frederick C. Packard, paintings, Saco River Theatre, Buxton. 929-6472. Through July 7.

"Having Said That," three-dimensional pieces by Robert Saunders, 3Fish Gallery, Portland. 3fishgallery.com. Through July 27.

"You Might As Well Fly," modernist paintings by Robert Hamilton, Greenhut Galleries, Portland. greenhutgalleries.com. Through July 27.

Stephen Delaney, photographs, Just Us Chickens Gallery, Kittery. justuschickens.net. Through July 31.

"Spectrum," oil paintings by Jeanne O'Toole Hayman, Richard Boyd Gallery, Peaks Island. richardboydartgallery.com. Through July 30.

"Love of ME," photographs that capture the beauty of Maine, Daunis Fine Jewelry, Portland. daunis.com. Through Aug. 31.

Summer group show, Wells Public Library. 646-8181. Through July 31.

"The Print Show," paintings by Barbara Ernst Prey, Blue Water Fine Arts, Port Clyde. bluewaterfinearts.com. Through July 18.

(Continued on page 3)

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors




Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)


 

Blogs

More PPH Blogs