Cross Country

Coach: Greg Wilkinson

Record: Boys, 17-0; Girls 12-6 over the regular season.

Seniors: Brad Bolton, David Carl, Evan Embrey, Jeff Konan, Ben Roy, Shawn Smith, Eric Favreau, Mary Yarumian.

A strong class of seniors led the boys to a perfect regular season, 17-0, capped by a home course win over eventual state champ Scarborough just before the Western Regionals.

“We did well in that meet and it was nice we had such a good crowd on hand,” said coach Greg Wilkinson. “It would have been nicer had we been sharper in the regional and state meets,” he added, “but these runners accomplished a lot, going 46-3 over the last three seasons.”

Evan Embrey, the boys’ MVP, keyed the strong team throughout the season and finished third overall at the Class A state meet. Ben Roy was named Most Dedicated; Murphy Doughty, a sophomore, was Most Improved and Eric Favreau earned the Bruce Dobkowski Award for sportsmanship.

Kat Pagano, a junior, was the top Scot girls runner this season and was named MVP for her team.

“And there were a lot of girls who improved over the season,” said Wilkinson. “We didn’t have high expectations in preseason, but they had a highly productive season.”

Kellie Martin was named the team’s Most Dedicated; Michelle Byrnes was named Most Improved; and Amber Cronin took the Dobkowski Award on the girls team.

Field Hockey

Coach: Patty Bourget

Record: 15-3, lost 4-0 to Skowhegan in the Class A final.

Seniors: Brittany Delaney, Kelly Johnson, Jamie Ketch, Jill Lundin, Jennifer McKinnon, Amber Morin, Morgan Sanborn, Courtney Wallace

“When we started the season, I had no idea we’d go this far,” said Bourget, whose girls returned to battle five-time state champ Skowhegan for the state crown again. “The team just came together and worked real hard and got themselves back in the state finals. This team started with nothing and ended up with something great.”

The team tuned up for the title game with big wins over Westbrook, Gorham and Sanford in the playoffs.

Kelly Johnson, a finalist for Miss Maine Field Hockey, earned the team’s MVP award. Most Improved was Megan Kuschke; Most Dedicated was Jamie Ketch; and Amber Morin won the Dobkowski Award for sportsmanship.

And did we mention these girls were smart? Johnson, Ketch and Courtney Wallace are among top seven students in their class academically at Bonny Eagle High School.


Coach: Kevin Cooper

Record: 10-2, state champions

Seniors: Eric Hanson, Neil Patnaude, Michael O’Donnell, Nick Davis, Chase Murray, John Wiechman, Griffen Sherry, Spencer Dunzik, Mason Tripp, Taylor Steeves, Jason Paine, Phillip Assante, Brett Cartwright, Charlie Butler, Cory Byrnes, Jack Lovell.

The Scots pulled off what only two other schools have done in the past 20 years, pulled off back-to-back Class A state football championships.

“These guys worked incredibly hard and it paid off,” said Cooper.

Credit Mike O’Donnell for taking over at quarterback for his graduated brother Matt and overseeing the development of an offense that became almost unstoppable. And while the biggest weapon was running back John Wiechman, who amassed piles of yardage in his career, including more than 200 in both back-to-back state championship victories, plenty of players did their part to return the gold ball to Bonny Eagle.

An experienced secondary and pass rush paved the way for a finely tuned defensive unit.

The Scots suffered losses to Portland and Gorham during the season, but avenged both of those in the playoffs. They then knocked off streaking Massabesic for the second time this fall (they also won in the season-opener) for the Western Maine title, before capturing the state crown with a 41-13 win over Mt. Blue.

Boys Soccer:

Coaches: Bob Bourget and Jeff Neal

Record: 6-6-2

Seniors: Brent Cole, Alex Pinette, Ben Summers-Milne

The dual head coaching tandem of Bourget and Neal produced positive results as the young team entered the season with a lot of building to do. The Scots started four freshmen.

“We were very young this season, but we were able to play together,” said Bourget, who said the team’s high point probably came during a win over Cheverus and a tie with Deering early in the season.

But the Scots also put three wins together (over Biddeford, Massabesic and South Portland) late in the fall and played eventual state champ Scarborough, Portland and Thornton Academy close to wind down the season. The boys made the playoffs, but fell in a narrow 1-0 loss to Deering in the preliminary round.

Brett Cole was the team’s MVP. Most Improved was Alex Pinette. Most Dedicated was Eban Semle. And the Dobkowski Award went to Spencer Lord.

Girls Soccer:

Coach: Rus Willette

Record: 8-8

Seniors: Jessica Bettney, Llia Dunham-Conway, Felicia Fox, Emily Harvey, Ashley Montgomery, Natasha Taylor and Heather Townsend.

Season: The Scot girls pulled off one of the great turn-arounds of any team in any sport in the state. After stumbling under first-year-coach Willette and losing six of their first eight, the Scots won six of their next seven games.

Included in that streak was a first-round playoff win (2-0) over South Portland. Gorham’s girls, the eventual state champs, finally ended the Scots’ season with a 3-0 win in the Western Class A quarterfinals.

“Anytime you get a team that starts out 2-6 in a short season like this, the tendency is to roll over,” said Willette “That they didn’t says a lot for their integrity.”

Llia Dunham-Conway and Ashley Montgomery, both first team All-SMAA selections, were named co-MVPs on the team. Natasha Taylor earned Most Dedicated and Most Improved was keeper Lyndie Libby was Most Improved. Emily Harvey won the Dobkowski Award.


Coach: John Gubelman

Record: 6-4

Seniors: Joshua Douin, Eben Larrabee.

Season: Coach Gubelman had a young squad this season, but still pulled off some major victories, and won three of its last four regular-season matches this fall.

“We lost to Biddeford at Dutch Elm and came back and beat them quite handily at our place later in the season,” said Gubelman. “I think that was one of the most satisfying moments this fall.”

Curran McGarry was named the team’s MVP. Greg Chase was Most Improved. And Johnathan Coppi was the team’s Most Dedicated. Kayle Hamilton won the Domkowski Award for sportsmanship.

With only two seniors graduating and six of the seven highest scorers back next year, this team should be able to build on this season’s success.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.