Mike McClellan, executive director of the Greater Bridgton Lakes Region Chamber of Commerce, was honored Monday at the State House by Rep. John Robinson, R-Raymond, the Lakes Region Legislative delegation and the entire Legislature on his being named the 2007 Chamber Executive of the Year by the Maine State Chamber of Commerce.

Robinson presented McClellan, also of Raymond, with a legislative sentiment expressing gratitude for his role in revitalizing the Lakes Region area. Legislative sentiments are joint orders that are used to congratulate or recognize a person, group or other entity for a significant achievement or civic accomplishment.

The sentiment was cosponsored by Reps. Sawin Millett, R-Norway; Richard

Sykes, R-Harrison; Roberta Muse, R-Fryeburg; Richard Cebra, R-Naples; Ralph Sarty, R-Denmark; and Sens. Bill Diamond, D-Cumberland; Bruce Bryant, D-Oxford; and David Hastings, R-Oxford.

“Mr. McClellan has selflessly worked to transform the financially challenged chamber into one that is self-sufficient through doubling its membership, creating profitable events and integrating municipal economic development,” Robinson stated in the sentiment. “Without a doubt, he has collaboratively increased this area’s prosperity, while enhancing tourism and business survivability.”

Cebra hosted McClellan for part of Monday morning and introduced him to members of the House Republican caucus during its morning meeting. Cebra was also privileged to recognize McClellan for his efforts.

“Having Mike come to Augusta and be recognized by the legislature and the Governor was a great opportunity to show him our appreciation for all his outstanding work as a strong advocate for the business community in the Lakes Region,” Cebra said.

From left, Reps. Ralph Sarty, Richard Sykes, John Robinson, Gov. John Baldacci, Mike McClellan, Reps. Rich Cebra, Sawin Millett, and Dana Connors, executive director of the Maine State Chamber of Commerce at the Baldacci’s office, March 10. McClellan was honored by the Legislature for being named the 2007 Chamber Executive of the Year by the Maine State Chamber of Commerce.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.