Cape Elizabeth, Scarborough and South Portland all enjoyed memorable moments during the fall sports season. Each school also had their share of standouts named to all-star teams. Here’s a look at who was honored in football, soccer, field hockey, cross country and golf:


On the heels of its run to the state final, it’s no surprise that Cape Elizabeth had players named to the Campbell Conference all-star team.

In Class B, seniors Tommy Foden (running back), Luke Morin (lineman), Finn Melanson (wide receiver), Brian Stephenson (lineman) and Ezra Wolfinger (quarterback), along with sophomore lineman Andrew Lavallee, were honored.

The Southern Maine Activities Association football all-star team has yet to be released.

Boys’ soccer

Forecaster Country grows superb soccer players like wildfire and 2009 was no different.

In the SMAA, two-time state champion Scarborough placed senior forward Trevor Hoxsie, senior midfielder Nate Tolman, senior back Andrew Nigro and senior goalkeeper Tennessee Peters on the first team.

The second team included Scarborough sophomore forward Andrew Jones, junior midfielder Kevin Philbrick and junior back Peter Rizzi.

Four South Portland players: senior forward Brian Arsenault, senior midfielder Adam Burpee, sophomore midfielder Nemanja Kaurin and senior back Thanh Nguyen were honorable mention selections.

Scarborough’s Nigro and South Portland’s Arsenault, Nickolas Brown, Burpee, Chad Macleod, Nguyen and Jeffrey O’Connor qualified for the All-Academic team.

Hoxsie and Portland’s Fazal Nabi shared the Offensive Player of the Year award.

In the Western Maine Conference, The Class A/B first team included Cape Elizabeth seniors Brock Barritt and Ben Brewster. Capers senior Harper Nelson made the second team. 

Several players made the all-regional team as well. In Western A, Cape Elizabeth’s Barritt and Brewster and Scarborough’s Hoxsie, Nigro, Peters and Tolman were honored.

Hoxsie scored two goals and Brewster added one in the West’s 5-4 win over the East in the Maine Soccer Coaches Senior Bowl.

Girls’ soccer

Plenty of girls’ soccer players were honored as well.

In the SMAA, Scarborough senior forward Jenn Colpitts, senior midfielder Crysti Tsujiura and junior back Tori Armishaw, along with South Portland senior Karleigh Bradbury, made the first team.

Scarborough junior midfielder Cortney Hughes was a second team selection.

Scarborough sophomore forward Haley Carignan and junior back Nicolette Caron were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Shelby Carignan and Tsujiura and South Portland’s Bradbury, Kate Lagios and Erin Speeches qualified for the All-Academic team.

The WMC A/B first team included Cape Elizabeth senior Meredith Riker and juniors Karyn Barrett and Anna Darling.

Cape Elizabeth’s Kristin Kerney, Katherine Lavallee, Elizabeth Marcuse and Colleen Thibeault qualified for the All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Armishaw, Colpitts, Hughes and Tsujiura and South Portland’s Bradbury were named to the Western A regional all-star team.

Field hockey

Scarborough’s field hockey team won its first Class A title this fall. The Red Storm certainly got the attention of other coaches in the SMAA as four players made the all-star team.

Seniors Ellie Morin and Brittany Ross made the first team. Senior Heather Carrier was a second-team selection. Senior Ashley Anastasoff was an honorable mention. 

South Portland’s Rebecca Roberts made the first team. Michelle Callow was an honorable mention.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Kelsey Maguire made the District 1 first team. Julia Springer was a second team selection.

Scarborough’s Carrier, Morin and Ross were also named to the all-state team.

Ross is one of four finalists for the Miss Maine Field Hockey award.

Cross country

On the trails, the WMC girls’ first team included Class B state champion Cape Elizabeth’s Emily Attwood, Rachel Nichols, Kelsey Barton and Hannah Doss. Catherine Tierney, Emma Inhorn and Ellen Best made the second team.

Attwood, Doss, Emily Leighton and Colleen Whitcomb qualified as Senior Scholar-Athletes.

On the boys’ side, Cape Elizabeth’s Reid Douty and Thomas Bottomley made the first team. Peter Brigham and Leo Ledman qualified for the second team.

Peter Brigham and Graham Finley made the cut as Senior Scholar-Athletes.

In the SMAA, Scarborough’s Nate Hathaway and Nick Morris and South Portland’s Jon Clement made the first team. 

Hathaway was named the SMAA Runner of the Year.

Scarborough’s Sean Griffin and South Portland’s Will Carter, Clement, Samuel Knutsen, Brian McHugh and Matthew Morey qualified for the All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, Scarborough’s Melissa DellaTorre was a second teamer. South Portland’s Annelise Donahue earned honorable mention.

Scarborough’s DellaTorre and Jennifer Snyder qualified for the All-Academic team.


It was a memorable season on the links as well.

South Portland’s Aidan Boyce made the SMAA north division first team. Scarborough’s Andrew Myers was on the second team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Will Pierce and Wilson Laprade qualified for the boys’ team.

Congratulations to all of our local all-stars!

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]


SPBSBurpee2.jpgSouth Portland’s Adam Burpee was an SMAA honorable mention selection this fall.
ScarFHCarrier2.JPGScarborough senior Heather Carrier made the SMAA field hockey all-star team after leading the Red Storm to a first-ever Class A championship.