WASHINGTON, D.C. — A team of five high school seniors from Falmouth competed this weekend in the U.S. Department of Energy’s 20th National Science Bowl, and while they did well, they did not qualify for Monday’s championship rounds.

Andrew Njaa, the coach of the Falmouth High School team, said his students beat two other regional qualifying teams who were assigned to their bracket, but they did not advance.

“They are done. I think mainly what they are feeling now is exhaustion,” Njaa said.

Members of the Falmouth High School team include: Ryan Gao, Alyssa Yeung, Tyler Evers, Ben Snowdon and Chadwick Prichard. They are all seniors.

Njaa said the bracket his team was placed in was highly competitive. A total of 68 high school teams from around the country qualified for the Science Bowl. Falmouth was the only team from Maine to compete. The competition also featured 37 middle school teams.

Sixteen high school teams moved on to compete in Monday’s double elimination rounds. Lexington High School from Lexington, Mass., is the only New England team left.

Created in 1991, the National Science Bowl encourages students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in those fields.




Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.