The 2010 spring sports season produced many thrills for athletes from Forecaster Country. In that light, it’s no surprise that postseason all-star lists featured many familiar names.


In the Western Maine Conference, the Class B baseball first team included Falmouth’s Mitch Beaulieu and Matt MacDowell and Yarmouth’s Jeff Kuklewicz, Luke Pierce and Nick Whittaker.

Freeport’s Kyle Moore, Greely’s Dan O’Brion and Yarmouth’s Campbell Haley and Aidan Sullivan made the second team.

Yarmouth’s Whittaker was named the Class B Player of the Year.

In Class C, North Yarmouth Academy’s Alan Brown, Dean Darien and Toey LeBlanc were selected to the first team. Teammates Sam Hutchinson and Will Strabley made the second team.

Darien was chosen the Class C Player of the Year.

Falmouth’s Beaulieu, E.J. Rogers and Nolan Tapley and Greely’s Luke Booth, Matt Ingraham and Joshua King qualified for the All-Academic team.

Beaulieu, Kuklewicz and Whittaker played in the Senior All-Star Game.


The Class B first team softball squad included Greely seniors Marika Stayte and Mary Zambello, sophomore Caroline Hamilton and Yarmouth juniors Julie Dursema and Abbie Hutchinson.

Falmouth’s Katie McCarthy, Freeport’s Leigh Wyman, Greely’s Bryce McEwen and Yarmouth’s McKenzie Gray were second teamers.

Falmouth’s McCarthy, Freeport’s Kayla Bibeau and Whitney Bibeau and Greely’s Erica Kahn and Zambello qualified for the All-Academic team.

Boys’ lacrosse

Nine of the 11 WMC boys’ lacrosse first team all-stars hailed from Forecaster Country.

At attack, Yarmouth seniors Evan Henry and Steven Petrovek joined Cape Elizabeth senior Tommy Foden.

At midfield, Falmouth seniors Dan Hanley and Mike Kane, along with Yarmouth senior Colby Shields, were selected.

The defensive unit featured NYA senior Brandon Barrett and Yarmouth senior Brodie Woodson, along with Cape Elizabeth senior Ben Brewster.

Yarmouth sophomore Josh Britten was the longstick middie.

Yarmouth senior Cam Woodworth was selected at goalie.

The second team included Falmouth junior attack Nick Bachman, senior middie Chris Janelle and sophomore longstick middie Mike Ryan, Freeport senior attack Tom Dorsey and defender Josh Sturtevant, Greely senior middie Teddy Russell and Yarmouth senior defenders Ebrahim Fazeli and A.J. Oliver.

Falmouth sophomore Cam Bell, Freeport senior Jackson Dodge, Greely sophomore Paul Witte, NYA senior goalie Taylor Norton were named honorable mentions.

Falmouth’s Hanley, Janelle and Kane, Freeport’s Dodge, Dorsey and Sturtevant, Greely’s Russell, NYA’s Barrett and Yarmouth’s Fazeli, Henry, Oliver, Petrovek (four goals and two assists), Shields and Woodworth played for the Class B squad in the Senior All-Star Game, which beat Class A, 16-7. Falmouth’s Mike LeBel and Freeport’s Geoff Arris served as coaches.

Falmouth’s Hanley and Kane and Yarmouth’s Petrovek and Woodworth were named All-Americans. Only nine players from the state received that honor.

LeBel was chosen Coach of the Year by his peers and Yarmouth’s Dave Maxwell was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

Girls’ lacrosse

On the girls’ side, Class B state champion NYA placed seniors Hayley Bright (defense), Courtney Dumont (attack) and Ashley Salerno (goalie), along with junior midfielder Lily Wellenbach on the WMC first team. They were joined by Falmouth senior attack Emma Sipperly, junior midfielder Laura Fay and Yarmouth juniors Becca Bell (midfield), Devin Simsarian (defense) and Danielle Torres (midfield).

Falmouth freshman attack Alex Bernier, junior defender Abby Cavalero and senior midfielder Sarah Girouard, Freeport senior midfielder Lucy Whitacre, Greely senior midfielder Kylie Ross and Yarmouth senior attack Molly Curry, junior defender Kate Dilworth and junior attack Natalie Salmon made the second team.

Falmouth’s Girouard and Sipperly, Freeport’s Whitacre and NYA’s Bright and Dumont played on the “Blue” team in the Senior All-Star Game. Greely’s Ross and Yarmouth’s Curry and Lizzie Fischman played for the “Red” squad.

NYA’s Dumont and Yarmouth’s Torres were two of Maine’s four All-Americans.


After another superb campaign, local track and field stars dominated the WMC all-star team.

The Class B state champion Falmouth boys produced first teamers Alec Dunn (110 hurdles), Will Wegener (100), Charlie Swerdlow (racewalk), Kellen MacDonald (300 hurdles) and its 4×400 relay squad. They were joined by Greely’s Logan Price (800), Alex Parenteau (javelin) and Michael Burgess (shot put) and NYA’s Henry Sterling (two-mile).

The second team was more of the same as Falmouth’s 4×100 relay team, MacDonald (110 hurdles) and Wegener (400), Greely’s Tanner Storey (high jump), Jon Higgins (javelin) and Burgess (discus) and NYA’s 4×800 relay team and Mohamed Dahia (300 hurdles) qualified.

Falmouth’s Tyler Evers, Ryan Gao, Michael Gardner, William Hayes, Eric Hemphill, MacDonald, Mike Serunian, Ben Snowden, Swerdlow and Bruce Tuttle, Greely’s Price and Yarmouth’s Sam Richardson and Sam Woodbury qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, Falmouth’s Rachel Brown (800) and Katie Sparks (shot put), Greely’s Meaghan Crowley (triple jump) and Katherine Harrington (discus) and NYA’s Hannah Bewsey (high jump) made the first team.

The second team included Falmouth’s Jenna Serunian (shot put) and Greely’s Hannah Werneth (discus), along with the Rangers 4×100 and 4×400 relay squads.

Falmouth’s Brown, Francesca D’Alfonso, Maura LaBrecque, Corey Morganstern and Erin Morris, Freeport’s Kaylon Brown and Lauren Parker, Greely’s Michaela Campbell, Abby Diehl, Kathleen Ewen, Kerri Grant, Anna Maine and Caroline Thomas and Yarmouth’s Kate Brackett, Eleanor Hurd, Mary McGrail and Elizabeth White qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.


Falmouth and NYA’s girls’ tennis teams won yet another state championship and both squads had a pair of first team WMC all-stars. The Yachtsmen, the conference champions, placed Annie Criscione and Analise Kump on the team, while the Panthers had Anna Jaeger and Thu-Trang Ho selected. They were joined by Yarmouth’s Hannah Potter.

Falmouth’s Libby Voccola and NYA’s Sarah Jordan were named to the second team.

Falmouth’s Amanda Gallagher, Christine Hammontree, Mae Strout and Emma Wilberg and Greely’s Laura Curtin, Marissa Goding, Emily Guernsey and Taylor Roach qualified as Senior Scholar Student-Athletes.

On the boys’ side, Falmouth’s Nick Polko and Yarmouth’s Ben Robinson were first teamers. Falmouth’s Tommy Bazarian and Taylor Dimick and Greely’s Stephen Hayes made the second team.

Falmouth’s Polko and Chad Prichard, Freeport’s Ian Connelly and Yarmouth’s Nick McMenamin, David Olshan and Eli Pitegoff qualified as Senior Scholar Student-Athletes.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]

Sidebar Elements

Falmouth’s Michael Ryan was a second-team all-star this spring.

Freeport’s Leigh Wyman pitched herself on to the Western Maine Conference All-Star team.

Greely high jumper Tanner Storey was a league all-star this spring.

NYA’s Dean Darien was one of the premier baseball players in Western C this year and was honored as an all-star.

Yarmouth junior Becca Bell was a first-team league all-star this spring.