The 2010 spring sports season produced many thrills for athletes from Forecaster Country. In that light, it’s no surprise that postseason all-star lists featured many familiar names.


Cape Elizabeth’s baseball team went to the Class B state final and also produced several all-stars.

Tanner Garrity, Conor Moloney, Will Pierce and Kyle Piscopo all made the Western Maine Conference first team.

Teammates Cam Brown and Rob MacDonald were second team selections.

Alexander Frustaci and Pierce qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the Southern Maine Activities Association, Scarborough first baseman Jake Rutt (the league’s batting champion with a .510 average) and South Portland designated hitter Matt Lee and pitcher Andrew Richards made the first team.

Scarborough utility Joe Cronin, outfielder Brendan Sullivan and pitcher Ben Wessel were named to the second team.

Scarborough’s Cronin and South Portland’s Evan Indorf were named to the All-Defensive team.

Scarborough’s Jim Cronin was chosen Coach of the Year.

South Portland’s Curit made the All-Academic team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Moloney, Pierce and Piscopo, Scarborough’s Rutt and Sullivan and South Portland’s Curit played in the Senior All-Star Game.


The SMAA all-conference first team had plenty of representation from Class A champion South Portland and perennial powerhouse Scarborough.

Red Storm sophomore Mo Hannan and Red Riots junior Alexis Bogdanovich made the squad as pitchers and were joined by Scarborough third baseman Abby Rutt, outfielder Jenn Colpitts and catcher Heather Carrier, along with South Portland junior designated hitter Katlin Norton.

The second team included Scarborough pitcher Melissa DellaTorre and teammate Dominique Burnham and South Portland’s Kaylee Swiger.

Scarborough’s Alana Peoples and South Portland’s Stephanie Thibeault were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s DellaTorre and South Portland’s Olivia Whitton qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, the Class B first team featured Cape Elizabeth senior Gabe Donahue.

Junior pitcher Ally Boyington made the second team.

Boys’ lacrosse

The Class B state champion Cape Elizabeth boys’ lacrosse team had a pair of WMC first teamers this spring. Senior attack Tommy Foden and senior defender Ben Brewster were honored.

Cape Elizabeth senior attack Harper Nelson, junior midfielder and faceoff specialist Timmy Takach and junior goalie Jack Roos made the second team.

The SMAA first team featured three South Portland players: senior defender Alex Catrett, senior midfielder Adam Burpee and junior attack Harrison Keithly. Scarborough seniors Matt Mayo (attack) and Sam Parenteau (defense) and sophomore Andrew Jones (longstick middie) were named to the second team.

Scarborough senior middie Nick Neugebauer and South Portland senior goalie Travis Wibby were honorable mentions.

Cape Elizabeth’s Brewster and Foden played for the Class B squad in the Senior All-Star Game, which beat Class A, 16-7. Scarborough’s Mayo and South Portland’s Burpee and Catrett played for the Class A team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Brewster and Foden were named All-Americans. Only nine players from the state received that honor.

Girls’ lacrosse

On the girls’ side, Class A state champion Scarborough placed seniors Lindsay Hagerman (attack), Ellie Morin (midfield) and Jackie Morin (defense) on the SMAA first team.

The second team included Scarborough senior midfielder Brittany Ross and sophomore midfielder Kelsey Howard.

South Portland midfielders Nikki LaPlante and Hannah Noll were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Maggie Smith and South Portland’s Iris SanGiovanni made the All-Rookie team.

South Portland’s Kate Lagios qualified for the SMAA Senior All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Hagerman and Morin played for the “Red” team and South Portland’s Lagios took part on the “Blue” squad in the Senior All-Star Game.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth senior defender Maggie Spagnola made the first team. Capers freshman Talley Perkins was a second teamer at midfield.


Scarborough’s girls won another Class A state title this spring and produced their share of all-stars in winning the league title.

The SMAA first team featured Red Storm standouts Christy Manning (discus), Andrea Tolman (pole vault), Nicole Kirk (200) and the 1,600 relay squad consisting of Abby Chick, Kirk, Tolman and Emily Tolman.

On the second team, Scarborough placed Manning (javelin), Emilia Scheemaker (long jump and triple jump), Jenny Snyder (100 hurdles) and Emily Tolman (400).

The third team included Manning (shot put), Catherine Bailey (pole vault), Kirk (100) and South Portland’s Cheyenne Coombs (high jump).

Scarborough’s Manning was chosen the Female Field Athlete of the Season in the SMAA.

On the boys’ side, Scarborough’s 400 relay squad (John Gonzalez, Scott Merrill, Eben Bradley and Conor Sullivan) and South Portland’s Jamison Esquibel (300 hurdles) were first teamers.

South Portland’s Adrian Reid (100) was a second teamer.

Scarborough’s Gonzalez (100), Sullivan (triple jump), Bradley (pole vault), Roscoe Thomas (high jump) and South Portland’s Nicholas Brown (pole vault) and Matthew Clement (racewalk) made the third team.

The All-Academic team included Scarborough’s Steven Arsenault, Sean Griffin, Abigail Lalone, Snyder and Angelo Verzoni and South Portland’s Courtney Adams, Alden Chaisson, Alaina Eldredge, Bryant Heimbach, Michelle Jacques, Polly McAdam, Leonie Rodewald and Juliana Scott.

In the WMC, the boys’ first team included Cape Elizabeth’s Jon Bass in the pole vault. Brendan Shields (triple jump) made the second team.

The girls’ first team featured Kelsey Barton in the 800 and Rachel Nichols in the mile. The 3,200 relay squad qualified for the second team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Devon Bottomley, Peter Brigham, Graham Findley, Emily Leighton and John Menz qualified for the All-Academic team.


Cape Elizabeth’s boys’ tennis team got back to the pinnacle in 2010. The Capers had a first (Matt Gilman) and second (Ross Sherman) WMC all-star.

In the SMAA, Scarborough’s Adam Saltz made the first team and teammate Alex Henny was named to the second team in singles.

Scarborough’s Zach Porter, Tim Przybylowicz and Saltz and South Portland’s Matthew Morey and Gregory Reinhold qualified for the Senior All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, in the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Jennifer Hewes made the first team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Kristin Kerney, Rebecca Manning, Elizabeth Marcuse and Julia Springer qualified as Senior Scholar Student-Athletes.

In the SMAA, Scarborough’s Ashley Anastasoff and Margaret Benoit made the doubles second team.

Scarborough’s Anastasoff, Shannon Eddy and South Portland’s Savannah King, Katherine Langerman and Terresa Wellington qualified for the Senior All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]

Sidebar Elements

South Portland pitching standout Alexis Bogdanovich not only led the Red Riots to their first Class A championsihp this spring, she was also named to the SMAA all-star team.

Scarborough senior Nick Neugebauer capped his career with a state title and a spot on the SMAA all-star team.

Cape Elizabeth freshman Talley Perkins made quite a mark in her first year and earned a spot on the WMC girls’ lacrosse all-conference team.