The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards announced today that 20 Maine teachers received national certification in 2010.

The 201 Maine teachers who have been certified in recent years are among more than 91,000 nationally certified teachers across the country.

The newly certified Maine teachers and their school districts are: Laurie Alves, MSAD 51; Virginia Brackett, Winslow; James Bywater. Poland; Kristi Charette MSAD 54; Brian Cote, Mount Desert; Valerie Dominski, Westbrook; David Doubleday, Five Town CSD; Maureen Driscoll, Sabattus; Rhonda Fortin, Westbrook; Patricia Fox, Fryeburg; Terrilyn Gagnon, Saco; Jill Kenney, MSAD 22; George Mayfield, Old Town; Jacob Mcnally, Portland; Heather Miller, MSAD 51; Catherine Roberts-Morin, Lewiston; Jessica Setley, Trenton; Rebecca Shields, MSAD 5; Christopher Walker-Spencer, Five Town CSD; Barbara Weed, MSAD 15; Sarah Young, MSAD 22.

The certification process is a voluntary, performance-based assessment program that takes one to three years to complete. Teachers must demonstrate advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices beyond basic state license requirements.

Some Maine school districts offer salary incentives to teachers who achieve national certification.